Research Guides: *Asian / East Asian Studies: Getting Started with Asian Studies

Topic Overviews

Oxford Bibliographies
Search to find recommended sources on scholarly topics. Modules include Buddhism and Chinese Studies.
The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism by Robert E. Buswell; Donald S. Lopez
Location: Bates Reference BQ130 .P75 2014 and online
Published: 2014
Columbia Guides to Asian History
Bibliographies on modern Japanese and Chinese history.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Humanities and social sciences articles and book chapters on East, Southeast, and South Asia, in Western languages. Publication dates: 1971 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Modern literature, language, linguistics, and folklore journal articles and books. Citations with links to full text. Publication dates: 1926 to present
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals. Publication dates: mostly 1960 to present (some earlier)
Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Religious studies journal articles, essays, and book reviews. Publication dates: 1949 to present ATLA
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Humanities, social sciences, and science full text journals. Recent years not included.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
World history (except U.S. and Canada) journal articles. Historical coverage: 1450 to present. Publication dates: 1954 to present.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology journal articles. Publication dates: 1895-present soc index

Contact:

Ladd Library 132
(207) 786-6268
cmurray2@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 10-1, Tues. 6-9, and Thurs. 1-4

Subjects: African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Environmental Studies, History, Japanese, Languages and Literatures, Legal Studies, Politics, Psychology, Sociology, U. S. History