It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
INDS 301D - US Immigration in the 20th Century: A Gender Perspective: Resources
Gender studies journal articles. Coverage: 1972 and earlier to the present.
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Free registration required to download images. Coverage: Ancient to contemporary
Particularly strong in all areas of art, architecture, design, and illustration (including maps) but also featuring images relevant to the humanities and sciences.
American and Canadian immigrant primary sources. Coverage: Colonial to 1950
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants.
Congressional hearings, for example, can be a way to hear the testimony of individuals and organizations.
The Congressional Record, first published in 1873, is essentially the complete printed version of debates, proceedings and speeches of the United States Congress. Previously congressional debates were catalogued in the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) and Congressional Globe (1833-1873). The American State Papers are a collection of 6,278 documents in 38 volumes comprising the legislative and executive documents of the first fourteen Congresses from 1789 to 1838. The Journals of the Continental Congress are the records of daily proceedings of the Continental Congress, as kept by Secretary Charles Thomson.