Written by Patrick Burns (see the highly recommended "R Inferno"), "Impatient R" is a series of incredibly useful, branched web pages that allow you to "choose your own adventure" through an introduction to R. Filled with a lot of practical advice and funny asides, this is a great place to begin your R programming adventure.
Rewire your brain Examples in this book are written in C++, but will improve your ability to think like a programmer in any language. The real challenge of programming isn't learning a language's syntax-it's learning to creatively solve problems so you can build something great. In this one-of-a-kind text, author V. Anton Spraul breaks down the ways that programmers solve problems and teaches you what other introductory books often ignore: how to Think Like a Programmer.
This book is about software for data analysis: the whole enterprise of using computer software to extract information from some source of data by organizing, visualizing, modeling, or performing any other relevant computation on the data.
Described by many to be a very important R program resource. This book does not start from first principles and assumes some general familiarity with programming. Lauded for its clarity and lack of verbosity.
From the book's Preface: "If you are using R and you think you’re in hell, this is a map for you."
Introduces the basic concepts and some of the more popular algorithms of data mining. With a focus on the hands-on end-to-end process for data mining, Williams guides the reader through various capabilities of the easy to use, free, and open source Rattle Data Mining Software built on the sophisticated R Statistical Software.
This O’Reilly cookbook provides more than 150 recipes to help scientists, engineers, programmers, and data analysts generate high-quality graphs quickly. Each recipe tackles a specific problem with a solution you can apply to your own project and includes a discussion of how and why the recipe works. Most of the recipes in this second edition use the updated version of the ggplot2 package, a powerful and flexible way to make graphs in R.
Covers making graphics such as scatter plots, line graphs, bar charts, pie charts, dot plots, heat maps, histograms and box plots. In addition, there are detailed recipes on making various combinations and advanced versions of these graphs. Dedicated chapters on polishing and finalizing graphs will enable you to produce professional-quality graphs for presentation and publication.
This book introduces you to R, RStudio, and the tidyverse, a collection of R packages designed to work together to make data science fast, fluent, and fun. Suitable for readers with no previous programming experience,
The contents of The R Software are presented so as to be both comprehensive and easy for the reader to use. Besides its application as a self-learning text, this book can support lectures on R at any level from beginner to advanced. This book can serve as a textbook on R for beginners as well as more advanced users, working on Windows, MacOs or Linux OSes.
Beginning R, Second Edition is a hands-on book showing how to use the R language, write and save R scripts, read in data files, and write custom statistical functions as well as use built in functions. This book shows the use of R in specific cases such as one-way ANOVA analysis, linear and logistic regression, data visualization, parallel processing, bootstrapping, and more. It takes a hands-on, example-based approach incorporating best practices with clear explanations of the statistics being done. It has been completely re-written since the first edition to make use of the latest packages and features in R version 3.
The Art of R Programming takes you on a guided tour of software development with R, from basic types and data structures to advanced topics like closures, recursion, and anonymous functions. No statistical knowledge is required, and your programming skills can range from hobbyist to pro.
This book introduces R using SAS and SPSS terms with which you are already familiar. It demonstrates which of the add-on packages are most like SAS and SPSS and compares them to R's built-in functions. It steps through over 30 programs written in all three packages, comparing and contrasting the packages' differing approaches. The programs and practice datasets are available for download. When finished, you will be able to import data, manage and transform it, create publication quality graphics, and perform basic statistical analyses.
This book introduces [readers] with little or no prior programming experience to the art of computational problem solving using Python and various Python libraries, including PyLab...The book is based on an MIT course (which became the most popular course offered through MIT's OpenCourseWare) and was developed for use not only in a conventional classroom but in in a massive open online course (MOOC). This new edition has been updated for Python 3, reorganized to make it easier to use for courses that cover only a subset of the material, and offers additional material including five new chapters.
"This textbook on Python 3 explains concepts such as variables and what they represent, how data is held in memory, how a for loop works and what a string is. It also introduces key concepts such as functions, modules and packages as well as object orientation and functional programming."
This book is organized into "nine different sections within the book covering Computer Graphics (including GUIs), Games, Testing, File Input and Output, Databases Access, Logging, Concurrency and Parallelism, Reactive programming, and Networking. Each section is self-contained and can either be read on its own or as part of the book as a whole."
With this book you will "review scientific computing with NumPy, visualization with matplotlib, and machine learning with scikit-learn. This revision is fully updated with new content on social media data analysis, image analysis with OpenCV, and deep learning libraries. At its heart lies the coverage of pandas, for high-performance, easy-to-use data structures and tools for data manipulation.
Don't let the title put you off. This book is a great way to move quickly through the basics of Python programming. If you already have experience with Python, this book can also be a great way to review what you already know.
This book teaches you how to use lists, tuples, and maps, organize and reuse your code with functions and modules, use loops and conditional statements, draw shapes with the turtle module and create games with tkinter.
This classroom-tested and easy-to-follow textbook teaches the reader how to program using Python, an accessible language which can be learned incrementally. Through an extensive use of examples and practical exercises, students will learn to recognize and apply abstract patterns in programming, as well as how to inspect the state of a program using a debugger tool. This hands-on textbook for active learning in the classroom will enable undergraduates in computer science to develop the necessary skills to begin developing their own programs. It employs Python as the introductory language due to the wealth of support available for programmers.
This clearly structured and easy to read textbook explains the concepts and techniques required to write programs that can handle large amounts of data efficiently. Project-oriented and classroom-tested, the book presents a number of important algorithms supported by motivating examples that bring meaning to the problems faced by computer programmers...The text assumes some basic experience in computer programming and familiarity in an object-oriented language, but not necessarily with Python. [From the publisher]
Learn how to program your nifty new $35 computer to make a web spider, a weather station, a media server, ...a web bot to search and download files,...a home security system, an underwater photography system, an RC plane with a camera, and even a near-space weather balloon with a camera. You'll learn how to use Pi with Arduino as well as Pi with Gertboard, an expansion board with an onboard ATmega microcontroller.
This comprehensive and stimulating introduction to Matlab, a computer language now widely used for technical computing, is based on an introductory course held at Qian Weichang College, Shanghai University, in the fall of 2014. this textbook is not meant to cover the whole range of this high-performance technical programming environment, but to motivate first- and second-year undergraduate students in mathematics and computer science to learn Matlab by studying representative problems, developing algorithms and programming them in Matlab. While several topics are taken from the field of scientific computing, the main emphasis is on programming.
Assuming no prior background in linear algebra or real analysis, An Introduction to MATLAB® Programming and Numerical Methods for Engineers enables you to develop good computational problem solving techniques through the use of numerical methods and the MATLAB® programming environment. Part One introduces fundamental programming concepts, using simple examples to put new concepts quickly into practice. Part Two covers the fundamentals of algorithms and numerical analysis at a level allowing you to quickly apply results in practical settings.
"MATLAB Graphics & Data Visualization Cookbook" will serve as your handbook to help you know the right graphic to showcase your data and teach you how to create it in clear step-by-step instructions.Tasks range from simple graphs using built-in MATLAB commands, to complex functions making frequently used customizations easy to implement.Learn about the key customizable elements in MATLAB graphics starting from figure and axis property settings, color, lighting, transparency and camera positioning to strategies for more advanced data visualization including adding interactivity and animation. Finish with recipes on presentation and publication.Learn the techniques and easily customize the recipes to apply to your datasets.
Text Mining with MATLAB provides a comprehensive introduction to text mining using MATLAB. It's designed to help text mining practitioners, as well as those with little-to-no experience with text mining in general, familiarize themselves with MATLAB and its complex applications. The first part provides an introduction to basic procedures for handling and operating with text strings. Then, it reviews major mathematical modeling approaches. Statistical and geometrical models are also described along with main dimensionality reduction methods. Finally, it presents some specific applications such as document clustering, classification, search and terminology extraction. All descriptions presented are supported with practical examples that are fully reproducible. Further reading, as well as additional exercises and projects, are proposed at the end of each chapter for those readers interested in conducting further experimentation.
Everything beginners need to start programming with Perl Perl is the ever-popular, flexible, open source programming language that has been called the programmers' Swiss army knife. This book introduces Perl to both new programmers and experienced ones who are looking to learn a new language. In the tradition of the popular Wrox Beginning guides, it presents step-by-step guidance in getting started, a host of try-it-out exercises, real-world examples, and everything necessary for a Perl novice to start programming with confidence.
Part of the fun of programming in Perl lies in tackling tedious tasks with short, efficient, and reusable code. Often, the perfect tool is the one-liner, a small but powerful program that fits in one line of code and does one thing really well. In Perl One-Liners, author and impatient hacker Peteris Krumins takes you through more than 100 compelling one-liners that do all sorts of handy things, such as manipulate line spacing, tally column values in a table, and get a list of users on a system. This cookbook of useful, customizable, and fun scripts will even help hone your Perl coding skills, as Krumins dissects the code to give you a deeper understanding of the language.
"Karel J Robot" is an introduction to computer programming for novices. It uses the Java programming language to introduce the principles of object-oriented programming. It is the latest version in the "Karel The Robot" series, originally developed by Richard Pattis. It is a true successor to the original, emphasizing problem solving in a simple but "Turing Complete" and interesting virtual world. "Karel J Robot" stresses problem solving rather than language syntax. It has been shown to be an effective learning environment for novice programmers.
This book presents a focused and accessible primer on the fundamentals of Java programming, with extensive use of examples and hands-on exercises. Topics and features: provides an introduction to variables, input/output and arithmetic operations; describes objects and contour diagram; discusses object-oriented concepts, and introduces string variables and processing; illustrates arrays and array processing; presents a primer on graphical input/output, discusses elementary exception processing, and presents the basics of Javadoc; includes exercises at the end of each chapter, with selected answers in an appendix and a glossary of key terms; provides additional supplementary information at an associated website.
By following the recommendations of the Association of Computing Machinery's Java Task Force, The Art and Science of Java adopts a modern objects-first approach that introduces readers to useful hierarchies from the very beginning.
Java All-in-One For Dummies, 4th Edition has what you need to get up and running quickly with Java. Covering the enhanced mobile development and syntax features as well as programming improvements, this guide makes it easy to find what you want and put it to use. Focuses on the vital information that enables you to get up and running quickly with Java Covers the enhanced multimedia features as well as programming enhancements, Java and XML, Swing, server-side Java, Eclipse, and more. Minibooks cover Java basics; programming basics; strings, arrays, and collections; programming techniques; Swing; Web programming; files and databases; and a "fun and games" category.
You'll learn all the basics: how to organize programs, store and display data, work with variables, operators, I/O, pointers, arrays, functions, and much more. *Discover free C programming tools for Windows, OS X, or Linux * Understand the parts of a C program and how they fit together * Generate output and display it on the screen * Interact with users and respond to their input * Make the most of variables by using assignments and expressions * Control programs by testing data and using logical operators * Save time and effort by using loops and other techniques * Build powerful data-entry routines with simple built-in functions * Manipulate text with strings * Store information, so it's easy to access and use * Manage your data with arrays, pointers, and data structures * Use functions to make programs easier to write and maintain * Let C handle all your program's math for you * Handle your computer's memory as efficiently as possible * Make programs more powerful with preprocessing directives
Beginning C teaches you how to program using the widely-available C language. You'll begin from first-principles and progress through step-by-step examples to become a competent, C-language programmer. All you need are this book and any of the widely available free or commercial C or C++ compilers, and you'll soon be writing real C programs. C is a foundational language that every programmer ought to know. C is the basis for C# used in Microsoft .NET programming. It is the basis for Objective-C used in programming for the iPhone, the iPad, and other Apple devices. It is the basis for the C++ that is widely used in a great many contexts, including the GNU Project. It underlies the Linux operating system and many of its utilities. Learning C provides a strong foundation for any programming care, and will even help you better understand more modern languages such as Java.
Learn the basics of programming with C with this fun and friendly guide! C offers a reliable, strong foundation for programming and serves as a stepping stone upon which to expand your knowledge and learn additional programming languages. Written by veteran For Dummies author Dan Gookin, this straightforward-but-fun beginner's guide covers the fundamentals of using C and gradually walks you through more advanced topics including pointers, linked lists, file I/O, and debugging. With a special focus on the subject of an Integrated Development Environment, it gives you a solid understanding of computer programming in general as you learn to program with C. Beginning Programming with C For Dummies assumes no previous programming language experience and helps you become competent and comfortable with the fundamentals of C in no time.
Beginning C for Arduino is written for those who have no prior experience with microcontrollers or programming but would like to experiment and learn both. This book introduces you to the C programming language, reinforcing each programming structure with a simple demonstration of how you can use C to control the Arduino family of microcontrollers.
C Programming for Arduino will show you how to harness powerful capabilities like sensing, feedbacks, programming and even wiring and developing your own autonomous systems. You'll learn C and how to code several types of firmware for your Arduino, and then move on to design small typical systems to understand how handling buttons, leds, LCD, network modules and much more. After running through C/C++ for the Arduino, you'll learn how to control your software by using real buttons and distance sensors and even discover how you can use your Arduino with the Processing framework so that they work in unison. Advanced coverage includes using Wi-Fi networks and batteries to make your Arduino-based hardware more mobile and flexible without wires.
This book is a selection of chapters evolved from papers on completed research submitted to GeoCart 2010 / the 1st ICA Regional Symposium on Cartography for Australasia and Oceania, held in Auckland, New Zealand, 1st -3rd September 2010. The book features cutting edge topics such geovisual analytics, mobile / Web 2.0 mapping, spatiotemporal representation, cognitive cartography, historical mapping and 3D technology.
Tile-based mapping systems have grown to become the dominant form of mapping system with the rise of Web-based mapping tools. The origin of this book is a desire to collect all our discoveries, techniques, and best practices for creating a tile-based mapping system into one combined volume. The intent of this text is to provide a comprehensive guide to the theory behind creating a tiled-map system as well as a practical guide to create a concrete implementation.
Integrates a broad introduction to GIS with a software-specific workbook for Esri's ArcGIS. Where most courses make do using two separate texts, one covering GIS and another the software, this book enables students and instructors to use a single text with an integrated approach covering both in one volume with a common vocabulary and instructional style.
There has been an increasing demand in GIS for systems that support historical data: time-series data as well as mobility information. From a modelling perspective, there are advantages in integrating object-oriented analysis and design to databases as well as to visualisation capabilities of GIS. The author demonstrates how this knowledge might be used in a wide range of applications such as political boundary record maintenance (historical data), disease incidence rate analysis in epidemics (diffusion rate), and environmental studies of climate change (time-series data).
This book will show you how to use the Python programming language to create geoprocessing scripts, tools, and shortcuts for the ArcGIS Desktop environment.This book will make you a more effective and efficient GIS professional by showing you how to use the Python programming language with ArcGIS Desktop to automate geoprocessing tasks, manage map documents and layers, find and fix broken data links, edit data in feature classes and tables, and much more.