It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A guide of resources for Prof. Saxine's class HIST S14: Pirates of the Caribbean.
17th and 18th century publications printed in America, including newspapers.
Based on the American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.
ECCO is comprised of material produced during the eighteenth century, including newspapers, pamphlets, broadsides, speeches, and plays.
Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.-- website.
More than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 states. Coverage: between 1690 and 1998.
Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
The Bodleian Library has unparalleled holdings of over 30,000 ballads in several major collections. The original printed materials range from the 16th- to the 20th-Century. The Broadside Ballads project makes the digitized copies of the sheets and ballads available to the research community.
Through rare primary resources and new editorial matter, this four-volume facsimile edition moves away from the personality cult of the pirate to encourage a more comprehensive view of Golden Age piracy. This new approach allows an exploration of how and why crews actually arose and how they responded to the complexities of eighteenth-century life. Highlighted are hitherto unexplored topics, such as the period's conflicting attitudes to 'entrepreneurial' pirates, once employed by wartime navies; incentives to piracy within the law; religion and piracy; the function of criminal biography; and the unfiltered voice of the underclass. The edition includes descriptions of the actions of individuals alongside contemporary discussions of the piracy problem through books, journals, newspaper articles, essays, reviews, proposals, pamphlets and sermons from Britain and its colonies. Piracy law and the prosecution of pirates are illustrated in parliamentary bills, treaties, trials, legal instructions and commentaries, proclamations and privateering commissions. Imaginative works that appeared in various forms such as verse, broadside ballads and fiction also feature.
Digital collection of books, journals, newspapers, and other print materials scanned by member libraries (including many of the largest research libraries in the US). Coverage: Ca. 1500 to present
Collection is full text searchable. Materials in the public domain are available for reading online. Copyrighted materials are not available in full text, but often indicate page numbers where words occur. Includes many US government documents. hathi trust