It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowSciences and social sciences journal articles. CogPrints
US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
European Patent Office
Japan Patent Office
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
UK Intellectual Property Office
SCOPUS offers coverage from 14,000 peer-reviewed titles from over 4,000 international publishers including 531 Open Access journals. in addition Scopus offers coverage of relevant scientific information on the Web, including author homepages, university sites, corporate information and other resources such as Preprint servers, CogPrints, ArXiv.org, OAI compliant resources, as well as the US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), the European Patent Office, the Japan Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office.
ScitationThis link opens in a new windowPhysics and Astronomy. 1975 to present
Index to content from disciplines including physics, chemistry, geosciences, engineering, and acoustics published by American Institute of Physics (AIP) Publishing and AIP Member Societies.
Contains approximately 600,000 articles from more than 110 technical publications in the physical sciences. Citations and abstracts come from 18 STM publishers (AIP, APS, ASCE, ASME, SPIE, and other science and engineering societies) Users must first register, which is free. Maintained by the American Institute of Physics (AIP).
Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) is the American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A–E.
arXivThis link opens in a new windowE-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. Not peer-reviewed.
Appearance of a paper is not intended in any way to convey tacit approval of its assumptions, methods, or conclusions by any agent (electronic, mechanical, or other). In other words, these articles are not necessarily subjected to the traditional model of "peer review."
SpringerLinkThis link opens in a new windowAcademic books in natural sciences, social sciences, computer programming and mathematics. Coverage: 2008-present.
Note that almost any SpringerLink book in our catalog can be purchased as a "print on demand", grayscale copy for $24.99. This price includes shipping to anywhere within the continental United States.
SciTech ConnectThis link opens in a new windowPhysics and geology. Index to energy-related citations created and/or collected by the U. S. DOE including full-text DOE sponsored STI reports.
Contains documents and citations in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics of interest related to DOE's mission.
In this concise and self-contained book based on his online Yale course, Professor R. Shankar explains the fundamental concepts of physics from Galileo's and Newton's discoveries to the twentieth-century's revolutionary ideas on relativity and quantum mechanics. The book begins at the simplest level, develops the basics, and reinforces fundamentals, ensuring a solid foundation in the principles and methods of physics.
This book provides solved problems related to Classical Mechanics and Electricity and Electromagnetism. Chapters begin with a summary, necessary formulas and Line diagrams followed by a variety of typical problems useful for assignments and exams. Detailed solutions are provided at the end of each chapter.
Handbook of Physics is a veritable toolbox for rapid access to a wealth of physics information for everyday use in problem solving, homework, and examinations. This complete reference includes not only the fundamental formulas of physics but also experimental methods used in practice.
"This book provides visualizations of many topics in general physics. The aim is to have an interactive MATLAB script wherein the user can vary parameters in a specific problem and then immediately see the outcome by way of dynamic "movies" of the response of the system in question. MATLAB tools are used throughout and the software scripts accompany the text in symbolic mathematics, classical mechanics, electromagnetism, waves and optics, gases and fluid flow, quantum mechanics, special and general relativity, and astrophysics and cosmology. The emphasis is on building up an intuition by running many different parametric choices chosen actively by the user and watching the subsequent behavior of the system."
This book provides a chronological introduction to the sciences of astronomy and cosmology based on the reading and analysis of significant selections from classic texts, such as Ptolemy's The Almagest, Kepler's Epitome of Copernican Astronomy, Shapley's Galaxies and Lemaître's The Primeval Atom. Each chapter begins with a short introduction followed by a reading selection. Carefully crafted study questions draw out key points in the text and focus the reader's attention on the author's methods, analysis, and conclusions. Numerical and observational exercises at the end of each chapter test the reader's ability to understand and apply key concepts from the text. The Heavens and the Earth is the first of four volumes.
This book provides a chronological introduction to the science of motion and rest based on the reading and analysis of significant portions of Galileo's Dialogues Concerning Two New Sciences, Pascal's Treatise on the Equilibrium of Fluids and the Weight of the Mass of Air, Newton's Mathematical Principles of Natural Philosophy, and Einstein's Relativity. Each chapter begins with a short introduction followed by a reading selection. Carefully crafted study questions draw out key points in the text and focus the reader's attention on the author's methods, analysis, and conclusions. Numerical and laboratory exercises at the end of each chapter test the reader's ability to understand and apply key concepts from the text. Space, Time and Motion is the second of four volumes.
"Basic Concepts in Physics: From the Cosmos to Quarks" gives an accessible and eminently readable introduction to all the main ideas of modern physics. The first five chapters are devoted to classical physics, from planetary motion to special relativity, always keeping in mind its relevance to questions of contemporary interest. The next six chapters deal mainly with newer developments in physics, from quantum theory and general relativity to grand unified theories, and the book concludes by discussing the role of physics in living systems. A basic grounding in mathematics is required of the reader, but technicalities are avoided as far as possible; thus complex calculations are omitted so long as the essential ideas remain clear.
Preferred by some over Griffiths' "Introduction to Quantum Mechanics" for it's mathematical presentation. This edition of "Introduction to Quantum Mechanics" also includes a new chapter on the revolutionary topic of of quantum computing.
One of the most popular and most recommended introductory quantum mechanics texts, this book first teaches learners how to do quantum mechanics, and then provides them with a more insightful discussion of what it means. Fundamental principles are covered, quantum theory presented, and special techniques developed for attacking realistic problems.
Topics in Volume III (Quantum Mechanics) of Feynman's legendary lectures include quantum behavior, wave/particle duality, Bose particles, Fermi particles, two-state systems, the Hamiltonian matrix, symmetry and conservation laws, and more.
Note: The complete Feynman lectures are available to read freely on the internet at: http://www.feynmanlectures.info/
This classic is considered by many to be an important companion to more "modern" introductory texts on Quantum Mechanics. Very readable, conceptually descriptive and (a happy thing for those approaching this for the first time) lighter on math than most of its more modern companions.
Here is an unparalleled modern handbook with comprehensive contents spanning: animal acoustics including infrasound and ultrasound, environmental noise control, music and human speech and singing, physiological and psychological acoustics, architectural acoustics, physical and engineering acoustics, medical acoustics and ocean acoustics. The Springer Handbook of Acoustics reviews the most important areas of acoustics, with emphasis on current research. Each chapter is richly illustrated with figures and tables.
This collection of formulas has been written by applied scientists and industrial engineers for design professionals and students who work in engineering acoustics. In addition to formulas, useful principles and computational procedures are given.
This classic reference on musical acoustics and performance practice begins with a brief introduction to the fundamentals of acoustics and the generation of musical sounds. It then discusses the particulars of the sounds made by all the standard instruments in a modern orchestra as well as the human voice, the way in which the sounds made by these instruments are dispersed and how the room into which they are projected affects the sounds.
Scholarly Physics Journals Available through Ladd Library:
For help identifying quality, subject-specific journals, check out the "Journal Rankings" search at SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR). A few examples of the titles you will find accessible at Bates are listed below:
Review articles which offer in-depth treatment of a research area, surveying recent work, and providing an introduction aimed at graduate students and nonspecialists. The journal's shorter Colloquia describe recent work of interest to all, especially work at the frontiers of physics, which may impact several different subfields [From the publisher].
Access: 01/01/1930 to present.
Content reflects core physics disciplines as well as topics whose central theme falls within the bounds of physics.
Access: 10/01/1995 to present.Quantum physics
Atomic and molecular physics
Statistical physics, thermodynamics and nonlinear dynamics
High-energy particle physics
Astrophysics and cosmology
Each Report reviews one specific, physics-related subject. These reviews are specialist in nature but contain enough introductory material to make the main points intelligible to a non-specialist.
Access: 01/01/1995 to present.
The American Physical Society’s highly selective, online-only, fully open access journal which publishes key papers from all areas of pure, applied, and interdisciplinary physics.
Access: 08/01/2011 to present.
Comprehensive articles on nanoscience and nanotechnology research related to the synthesis, assembly, characterization, theory, and simulation of nanostructures (nanomaterials and assemblies, nanodevices, and self-assembled structures), nanobiotechnology, nanofabrication, methods and tools for nanoscience and nanotechnology, and self- and directed-assembly.
Access: 08/01/2007 to present.
The world’s premier physics letter journal publishing short, high quality reports of significant and notable results in the full arc of fundamental and interdisciplinary physics research [From the publisher].
Access: 07/01/1957 to present.
Applied Physics B covers the broad field of laser physics, linear and nonlinear optics, ultrafast phenomena, photonic devices, optical and laser materials, quantum optics, laser spectroscopy of atoms, molecules and clusters as well as the use of laser radiation in biophotonics, chemistry and biochemistry.
Access: 09/01/1996 to present.