Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Google Advanced Search
Google Advanced Search
Provides MANY more options for refining a Google web search (e.g. searching within a specific web site or domain, or specifying open license).
Bates Writing Assistance
Writing at Bates
Discover the wealth of writing aids and resources available to Bates Students, Faculty and Staff. For example, you can make a one-on-one appointment with a writing specialist or drop in for help at the Peer Writing and Speaking Center.
Plate Techtonics and Hazards Research Resources
Potentially Useful Geology Reference Works:
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science (Second Edition) by
The second revised edition of the Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science, provides both students and professionals with an up-to-date reference work on this important and highly varied area of research. Research in the Quaternary sciences has advanced greatly in the last 10 years, especially since topics like global climate change, geologic hazards and soil erosion were put high on the political agenda. This second edition ...contains 357 broad-ranging articles (4310 pages) written at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers with a ready reference resource for information in the field.
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science (First Edition) by
With over 360 articles and 2,600 pages, many in full-color, the Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science provides broad ranging...articles on all of the major topics in the field. The quaternary sciences...[link] ancient prehistory to modern environments. Quaternary terrestrial sediments contain the fossil remains of existing species of flora and fauna, and their immediate predecessors. Quaternary science plays an integral part in such important issues for modern society as groundwater resources and contamination, sea level change, geologic hazards (earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, tsunamis), and soil erosion.
Glossary of Geology by
A primary source for geoscience terminology containing nearly 40,000 entries. Not sure about the difference between sylvanite and sylvinite? This reference work is a great place to find out.
Potentially Useful Periodicals:
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Biomedical, physical and social science literature reviews.
Periodical Indexes/Databases Useful for Climate Issues:
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from all GeoScienceWorld journals. Also searches citations indexed in GeoRef, the most comprehensive bibliographic database in the geosciences.
GeoScienceWorld allows you to search by geographic location as well as by keyword. Quickly limit your search area using the convenient world map. GeoScience World geo science
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Geology/geosciences journal articles. Publication dates: 1669 to present (North America); 1933 to present (World)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Sciences and social sciences journal article citations. Searchable by author affiliation and citation count.
US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
European Patent Office
Japan Patent Office
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
UK Intellectual Property Office
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text journals and magazines across disciplines.
ebsco scholarly articles
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environmental policy and science journal articles. Publication dates: 1950s to present
Tips for Evaluating Scholarly Resources: