Research Guides: FYS 532 Arts and Spirituality: Getting Started with FYS 532

Class Presentation for FYS 532

Best Bets for FYS 532 - Arts and Spirituality

Background Information

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Topical bibliographies in the humanities and social sciences. Oxford Bibliography
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Grove Dictionary of Art.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Covers persons, places, organizations, and terminology associated with the study of western classical, popular, and world music.
Includes access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dcitionary of Music. Grove Music Online is a continuously updated and comprehensive music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (second edition; 29 volumes; London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (4 volumes; London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, edited by Barry Kernfeld (second edition; 3 volumes; London, 2002).

General Databases (All subjects)

LibrarySearch
The default search for our collections searches all Bates library databases and the shared library catalog of Colby Bates and Bowdoin simultaneously.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Humanities, social sciences, and science full text journals. Recent years not included.

Subject Databases (Art, Music, Religious Studies)

Art Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Fine arts journal articles. Publication dates: 1984 to present
Art Abstracts indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Abstracts indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Fine and studio arts periodicals and books; abstracts and some full text. Includes an Image Collection of over 63,000 images. Publication dates: ca. 1980 to present art & architecture complete
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Music journal articles, book reviews, and conference proceedings. Citations with links to full text.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Modern literature, language, linguistics, and folklore journal articles and books. Citations with links to full text. Publication dates: 1926 to present
Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Religious studies journal articles, essays, and book reviews. Publication dates: 1949 to present

Databases with Interview Coverage

ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, broadcast transcripts, and wire service reports including NYT, Boston Globe, LA Times and Washington Post. 1850 to Current; varies with each title
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Rhetoric, communication, film, television, mass media, and popular culture journal articles. Publication dates: early 20th century to present communication & mass media complete

Finding books in Ladd

Finding Call Number and Location

First you will need the call number and location, which you can find in LibrarySearch. Make sure to note that the location is Ladd Library. Click on the FIND IN LIBRARY to find out on which floor of the library the item is located. In the example below, the call number is HB71 .F69584 2016, and if you click on FIND IN LIBRARY, you will see that this book is shelved on the Ground Floor.

Using the Call Number

Now that you have the call number and know on which floor the book is shelved, divide the call number to find the exact location.

HB71 .F69584 2016

HB This is in alphabetical order: H, HA, HB, HC, and so on.
71 Within HB, the books are in numeric order. That is HB 71 is between HB 70 and HB 80, not next to HB 700 or HB 7000.
.F69584 Within HB 71, look alphabetically for F (between E and G) and then within F, read 69584 as a decimal number. Therefore, .F69584 is between .F6 and .F7.

Research Librarian

Ben Peck

He/Him/His

Contact:

Ladd Library 130
(207) 786-6264
bpeck@bates.edu

Subjects: Education, Philosophy, Religious Studies