Research Guides: FYS 475- Theorizing the Klan: Getting Started with FYS 475

Class Presentation for FYS 475

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Topical bibliographies in the humanities and social sciences. Oxford Bibliography
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries, language reference, and subject reference works, including the Oxford Companions series.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text journals and magazines across disciplines. ebsco scholarly articles asc
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Humanities, social sciences, and science full text journals. Recent years not included.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history journal articles. Citations with links to full text. Publication dates: 1964 to present america history and life ahl
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology journal articles. Publication dates: 1895-present soc index
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education journal articles and reports. Publication dates: 1966 to present.

LibrarySearch
The default search for our collections searches all Bates library databases and the shared library catalog of Colby Bates and Bowdoin simultaneously.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, broadcast transcripts, and wire service reports including NYT, Boston Globe, LA Times and Washington Post. 1850 to Current; varies with each title
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, broadcast transcripts, wire service reports and international news sources. Includes New York Times. Publication dates: 1977 to current

Historical Newspaper Databases

Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) This link opens in a new window
African American newspaper.
Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) This link opens in a new window
African American newspaper.
Chicago Defender (1905-1975) This link opens in a new window
Leading Black newspaper of the 20th century.
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) This link opens in a new window
African American newspaper.
New York Times (1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
This version offers scanned copies of every available page and every article in the newspaper. Includes all images and advertisements.
Boston Globe (1872-1990) This link opens in a new window
Includes PDFs of pages and articles.
San Francisco Chronicle (1856-1922) This link opens in a new window
Includes scanned PDFs of pages, article, images and advertisements.
Los Angeles Times (1881-1997) This link opens in a new window
Scanned version of print edition, including all images and advertisements.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from 1836-1963 (most pre-1925) and a directory of American newspapers published between 1690 and the present.

He/Him/His

Contact:

Ladd Library 130
(207) 786-6264
bpeck@bates.edu

Subjects: Education, Philosophy, Religious Studies