Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Course Text and Reserves
FYS 446 Course Reserves:
Left your copy of "The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time" back in your dorm room? Wondering whether the library reserve copy is available?
General Course Reserves:
Want to check availability for reserve materials for other courses by course number or instructor?
Communication Equation Library Resources
Potentially Useful Popular Magazines:
National and international news, behavior, books, business, cinema, law, education, environment, modern living, music, nation, press, religion, theater, video and world.
USA Today Magazine (Online)
Presents general interest articles on the American scene.
Access: 06/01/1992 to present
The music lovers magazine! Rock & Roll, national affairs, feature stories, reviews, classified ads, and the music charts. Find out where your favorite group stands in the ratings.
Sports Illustrated (Online)
Reports and interprets the world of sport, recreation and active leisure. It previews, analyzes and comments upon major games and events, as well as those noteworthy for character and spirit alone.
Reports on and offers analysis of international news, world politics, business, finance, science, and technology. Includes 16 news categories including politics and business; short articles on world leaders, science, technology, finance and economics; surveys of countries and regions; obituaries; and reviews of literature and the arts. The back of each issue includes handy economic, financial, and market indicators.
Personal and family finance magazine with articles providing guidance on making, investing, spending, and saving money.
AARP Bulletin (Online)
Monthly bulletin of the self-described nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that helps people 50 and older improve the quality of their lives.
New York Times (1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
This version offers scanned copies of every available page and every article in the newspaper. Includes all images and advertisements.
New York Times (1980-current) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text version of the Late Edition (East Coast). Does not include images or advertising. Publication dates: 1980 to current
The Times (London; Online)
Provides United Kingdom news, World news, business news and current events.
Access: 03/18/1788 to present
Provides citation, abstract and full text for Chicago Tribune content.
Access: 01/01/1985 to present
Proquest News and Newspapers
Newspapers, broadcast transcripts, and wire service reports including NYT, Boston Globe, LA Times and Washington Post. 1850 to Current; varies with each title.
International News and News Papers
Browse the collection on international news papers available from the Bates College Library.
Free Academic Software Available at Bates:
Free Academic Software
A listing of links to free versions of ChemBioOffice, Endnote, Mathematica, Microsoft Office and Prism.