It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENVR 240 - Water and Watersheds: Research Tools
A guide supporting ENVR 240 in which "students follow water from atmosphere to land to aquatic systems, emphasizing the controls on the movement and chemistry of water in freshwater ecosystems."
Your main tool for searching the primary literature.
SCOPUS offers coverage from 14,000 peer-reviewed titles from over 4,000 international publishers including 531 Open Access journals. in addition Scopus offers coverage of relevant scientific information on the Web, including author homepages, university sites, corporate information and other resources such as Preprint servers, CogPrints, ArXiv.org, OAI compliant resources, as well as the US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), the European Patent Office, the Japan Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office.
Lake and Reservoir Management
Note that many articles will require an interlibrary loan request. The simplest way to do this is to select the "Open URL" button below the article description at the publishers web site (i.e. from the link provided).
This list contains journals that, although more general in content coverage than the Tier I journals, are also likely to contain articles relevant to your "Water and Watersheds" research project proposal.
Tier II Journals: More General with Interesting Aquatic Content
This list contains journals that are either broader or more ecological in coverage than than either the Tier I or Tier II journals. However, they might contain articles relevant to your "Water and Watersheds" research project proposal.
Tier III Journals: Even more general with the potential for useful content
This list contains journals that are not peer reviewed to the level of the Tier I to Tier III journals. However, they might contain articles relevant to your "Water and Watersheds" research project proposal.
The premier international newspaper of the Earth and space sciences. Covers the broad spectrum of geophysics topics: solid Earth sciences, oceans, atmospheres, biospheres, freshwater, space science, history of the geosciences, and education, among others.
Access: 1969 to present
Original research on the total environment, which includes the atmosphere, hydrosphere, biosphere, lithosphere, and anthroposphere. The total environment is characterized where these five spheres overlap.
Access: 01/01/1995 to present
A guide for scientific writing in the style promoted by the Geological Society of America (GSA).
In addition to a manuscript template (.doc), this site provides valuable information regarding format of text body, figures, tables and citations. Examples of citation format for a variety of sources (e.g. journal articles, maps, theses, web sites) are provided.
The Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs reviews the physical, chemical and ecological characteristics of lakes and reservoirs, and describes their uses and environmental state trends in different parts of the world. Superbly illustrated throughout, it includes some 200 entries in a range of topics, including acidification, artificialization, canals, climate change effects, dams, dew ponds, drainage, eutrofication, evaporation, fisheries, hydro-electric power, nutrients, organic pollution, paleolimnology, reservoir capacities and depths, sedimentation, water resources and more.
This handbook is organized into six sections: poverty, rights, and ethics; food, energy, and water; water and the politics of scale; law, economics, and water management; the politics of transboundary water; and the politics of water knowledge. Cross-cutting themes include governance challenges rooted in the mobility, unpredictability, and public-goods dimensions of water; tensions and synergies among equity, efficiency, and sustainability; the distributive consequences of water governance; the design and performance of water institutions; and the implications of climate change.
With over 360 articles and 2,600 pages, many in full-color, the Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science provides broad ranging...articles on all of the major topics in the field. The quaternary sciences...[link] ancient prehistory to modern environments. Quaternary terrestrial sediments contain the fossil remains of existing species of flora and fauna, and their immediate predecessors. Quaternary science plays an integral part in such important issues for modern society as groundwater resources and contamination, sea level change, geologic hazards (earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, tsunamis), and soil erosion.
The second revised edition of the Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science, provides both students and professionals with an up-to-date reference work on this important and highly varied area of research. Research in the Quaternary sciences has advanced greatly in the last 10 years, especially since topics like global climate change, geologic hazards and soil erosion were put high on the political agenda. This second edition ...contains 357 broad-ranging articles (4310 pages) written at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers with a ready reference resource for information in the field.
USGS Publications Warehouse For a list of document types available in the USGS Publications warehouse, you can look here. There are many, so you might want to navigate to the list and search the webpage (i.e. Control+f or Command+f) for "water" or "hydrology".
Useful Examples of Water-related publications from the USGS
EPA Regional Offices
After selecting a region (i.e. 1-10), selecting an individual state from the resulting map takes you to the EPA website for that state.
This is a great way to quickly navigate to a state site and learn about local issues.
Global Lake Ecological Observatory Network
From the website:
GLEON "conducts innovative science by sharing and interpreting high resolution sensor data to understand, predict and communicate the role and response of lakes in a changing global environment."
Lakes of Maine Website
Information regarding water quality, native and non-native plants and animals and ecosystems in Maine lakes.
HydroSHEDS (BAS) HydroSHEDS offers a suite of geo-referenced data sets (vector and raster), including stream networks, watershed boundaries, drainage directions, and ancillary data layers such as flow accumulations, distances, and river topology information.
Watershed Asia WaterSHED, which stands for Water, Sanitation and Hygiene Enterprise Development, has the objective to bring effective, affordable water and sanitation products to market in Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam.