Skip to Main Content

EDWS 384 - Education in a Globalized World: Resources

Article Indexes

Historical Abstracts
Articles on world history (excluding U.S. and Canada). Search "colonial education" or education history plus a country name.
ERIC
Articles on education. Search "educational history."

Useful subject headings

Education Kenya
This is just an example; any country's educational system can be searched in LibrarySearch by subject: education and country name.
Education and globalization
Education and state
Indigenous peoples Education
Education Great Britain Colonies
Books on colonial education can be found under the name of the colonizing country, plus "colonies."
Education Social aspects

Researching a Country's Education System

Planipolis
A portal of official education plans and policies from UNESCO Member States. Also check the UNESCO International Institute for Education Planning publications.
African Education Research Database
Research on educational policy and practice in sub-Saharan Africa.
Oxford Bibliographies: African Studies
Most African countries have their own bibliographies, with summaries of important works on history, culture, politics, etc.

Going to School in Sub-Saharan Africa by Bridget Olirejere Omatseye; Jim Nesin Omatseye
Location: LA1501 .O433 2008

Published: 2008

There are similar titles for other regions of the world
Country Studies, Library of Congress
Location: Online, but many also in the library

These are somewhat dated, but give a historical overview of each country, and may have sections on educational system.
World Education Encyclopedia
Location: LB15 .W87 1988

Published: 1988

Quite dated by now, but still useful for historical perspective. Essays on educational systems by country.
International Handbook of Higher Education
Location: Available online.

Published: 2008

Essays on higher education by region and country.
Third international handbook of globalisation, education and policy research
Location: Available online

ISBN: 3030660036

Published: 2021
Issues in African Education: Sociological Perspectives
Location: LC191.8.A4 I77 2005

Published: 2005
An Introductory History of Education by Daniel Sifuna; James Otiende
Location: Available online

Published: 2006

With an emphasis on the history of African education.
Education in East and Central Africa by Charl Wolhuter (Editor); Colin Brock (Contribution by)
Published: 2015
New Encyclopedia of Africa
Location: Available online

Published: 2007

He/Him/His

Contact:

Ladd Library 130
(207) 786-6264
bpeck@bates.edu

Subjects: Education, Philosophy, Religious Studies