Getting Started with EACS 109 - EACS 109 - Earth's Climate System

Best Bets for EACS 109

Try Searching In An Article Index:

An article index is like Google Search if it only searched journal articles. Below you will find several article indexes that should help you find your primary scientific research article.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Sciences and social sciences journal article citations. Searchable by author affiliation and citation count.

Scopus Orientation Video
Brief screen capture video highlighting many of the useful features of the Scopus article index.

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environmental policy and science journal articles. Publication dates: 1950s to present
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. environmental geology hydrology economic geology geophysics petrology paleontology marine geology oceanography mineralogy
The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1666 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered. [From the publisher]
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from all GeoScienceWorld journals. Also searches citations indexed in GeoRef, the most comprehensive bibliographic database in the geosciences. Quickly limit your search area by geographic location using the convenient world map. GeoScience World geo science

Finding Secondary Sources

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text news, law, and business-related research. Publication dates: Varies by titles; 1980s to the present. L/N lexis nexis nexus lexus lexisnexis
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, broadcast transcripts, wire service reports and international news sources. Includes New York Times, Washington Post, and Boston Globe along with content from MANY other newspapers.

Google Advanced Search
Provides MANY more options for refining a Google web search (e.g. searching within a specific web site or domain, or specifying open license).

Representative Journals for EACS 109

Try Searching in a Single Journal:

If Bates has access to a specific journal, you can search within it very easily!

From the Ladd Library home page, select the "Journals by Title" link beneath the Library Search box.
On the resulting new page enter the title or ISSN of the journal you want to search.
Select your desired journal from the search results and then use the "Search Inside" box to search for articles within the journal.

Potentially Useful Journals:

Nature Climate Change
Dedicated to publishing the most significant and cutting-edge research on the science of climate change, its impacts and wider implications for the economy, society and policy.
Access: 2012 to present
Climatic Change
An interdisciplinary, international journal devoted to the description, causes and implications of climatic change.
Access: 01/01/1997 to present
Journal of Climate
Climate research concerned with large-scale variability of the atmosphere, oceans, and land surface, including the cryosphere; past, present and projected future changes in the climate system (including those caused by human activities); climate simulation and prediction.
Access: 01/01/1988 to present.