SciFinder n is a research tool providing access to Chemical Abstracts databases which index a wide range of international literature in chemistry and diverse scientific fields including biology, engineering, physics, geology and material sciences. Major coverage includes journal articles, patents, dissertations, conference proceedings, as well as over 30 million substance records in the CAS Registry database. SciFinder can be searched by topic, author name, or by substance name, chemical structure, reactions, formulas or CAS Registry numbers. Commercial and regulated chemical information is included in SciFinder database content. Linking to full text articles in certain journals to which the library subscribes is an added feature.
This book covers ...mathematics encountered in chemistry in an easy-to-read format for students in chemistry and related subjects. The book includes applied chemistry problems to provide practice in applying the techniques to real chemistry. [From the publisher]
Tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units. Useful for physical sciences and related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science.
The Merck Index is a one-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. This edition also provides enhanced coverage of traditional medicines.
This book is a well-established guide to the interpretation of the mass, ultraviolet, infrared and nuclear magnetic resonance spectra of organic compounds. It is designed for students of organic chemistry taking a course in the application of these techniques to structure determination. The text also remains useful as a source of data for organic chemists to keep on their desks throughout their career.
Breaks down common mechanistic organic processes into their basic units to explain the core electron flow pathways that underlie these processes. Stresses the use of analytical tools such as flow charts, correlation matrices, and energy surfaces to enable readers new to organic chemistry to grasp the fundamentals at a much deeper level. Emphasizes logical processes rather than memorization to solve mechanistic problems.
SciFinder n is a research tool providing access to Chemical Abstracts databases which index a wide range of international literature in chemistry and diverse scientific fields including biology, engineering, physics, geology and material sciences. Major coverage includes journal articles, patents, dissertations, conference proceedings, as well as over 30 million substance records in the CAS Registry database. SciFinder can be searched by topic, author name, or by substance name, chemical structure, reactions, formulas or CAS Registry numbers. Commercial and regulated chemical information is included in SciFinder database content. Linking to full text articles in certain journals to which the library subscribes is an added feature.
Follow this link to the Mac OS and Windows installer files for mNOVA.
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowSciences and social sciences journal article citations. Searchable by author affiliation and citation count.
CogPrints
ArXiv.org
OAI
US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
European Patent Office
Japan Patent Office
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
UK Intellectual Property Office
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowMedical research journal articles. National Library of Medicine's version of Medline. Mid 1950s to present
general science
chemistry
medicine
nursing
dentistry
veterinary medicine
health care system
preclinical sciences
SpringerLinkThis link opens in a new windowAcademic books in natural sciences, social sciences, computer programming and mathematics. Publication dates: 2008-present.
Note that almost any SpringerLink book in our catalog can be purchased as a "print on demand", grayscale copy for $24.99. This price includes shipping to anywhere within the continental United States.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowArticles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Includes "Cited By" link when a work has been cited.
From academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Chemistry Journals at BatesAn extensive, but not necessarily exhaustive list of Chemistry journals available at Bates.
Semantic ScholarThis link opens in a new windowComputer science and biomedicine citations from PubMed, ArXiv, Springer Nature, and more.
J Chem Ed advances chemistry teaching and learning and chemistry education research via peer-reviewed content addressing laboratory experiments, curricula, and pedagogies.
News source for members of the worldwide chemistry community with coverage spanning research advances, business and policy trends, crucial chemical safety data, job and career information, and more.
The Royal Society of Chemistry's flagship reviews journal, publishing high-impact, succinct and reader-friendly articles at the forefront of the chemical sciences.
Comprehensive, authoritative, critical, and readable reviews of important recent research in organic, inorganic, physical, analytical, theoretical, and biological chemistry published by the American Chemical Society.
Short, concise, and critical articles offering easy-to-read overviews of basic research and applications in all areas of chemistry and biochemistry published by the American Chemical Society.
Research articles, reviews and perspectives covering topics related to catalysis, green and sustainable approaches to synthesis, organic and organometallic chemistry, chemical biology and bioorganic chemistry, various areas of synthesis, functional organic and polymeric materials, and supramolecular and macromolecular chemistry.
The leading primary journal in organic, organometallic, and applied chemistry. Articles on efficient, practical, and environmentally friendly organic synthesis.
Coverage includes experimental and theoretical reports on quantitative studies of structure and thermodynamics, kinetics, mechanisms of inorganic reactions, bioinorganic chemistry, and relevant aspects of organometallic chemistry, solid-state phenomena, and chemical bonding theory.
Access: 01/01/1962 to present.
Publishes studies on energy conversion and storage; energy and charge transport; surfaces, interfaces, porous materials, and catalysis; plasmonics, optical materials, and hard matter; physical processes in nanomaterials and nanostructures.
Articles focusing on chemistry, physics and engineering involving polymers as well as fields such as functional and specialty polymers, biomaterials, polymers and drug delivery, polymers in electronic applications, composites, conducting polymers, liquid crystalline materials and the interphases between polymers and ceramics, and new fabrication techniques.
Bates Chemistry Department capstone projects including honors and standard theses published from 2011 to present are discoverable electronically on SCARAB.
Honors theses earlier than 2011 can be found in the catalog under the Author "Bates College (Lewiston, Me.). Department of Biology."
Chemistry Atoms First 2e by 
Chemical Calculations by 
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by 
The Merck Index by 
Spectroscopic Methods in Organic Chemistry (7th Edition) by 
Electron Flow in Organic Chemistry by 