Resources - Chemistry 310 - Biophysical Chemistry - Research Guides at Bates College

Search Chemistry Articles

SciFinder n This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to substance, reaction, and reference information in a single tool. Create a Scifinder Account from our SciFinder Quick Start Guide.
SciFinder n is a research tool providing access to Chemical Abstracts databases which index a wide range of international literature in chemistry and diverse scientific fields including biology, engineering, physics, geology and material sciences. Major coverage includes journal articles, patents, dissertations, conference proceedings, as well as over 30 million substance records in the CAS Registry database. SciFinder can be searched by topic, author name, or by substance name, chemical structure, reactions, formulas or CAS Registry numbers. Commercial and regulated chemical information is included in SciFinder database content. Linking to full text articles in certain journals to which the library subscribes is an added feature.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Sciences and social sciences journal article citations. Searchable by author affiliation and citation count.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles in biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.nursing dentistry veterinary
It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Academic books in natural sciences, social sciences, computer programming and mathematics. Publication dates: 2008-present.
Note that almost any SpringerLink book in our catalog can be purchased as a "print on demand", grayscale copy for $24.99. This price includes shipping to anywhere within the continental United States.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Includes "Cited By" link when a work has been cited.
From academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Science and Data Librarian

Contact:

Ladd Library 133
(207) 786-8328
pschlax2@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 1-4, Wed. 6-9, and Thurs. 10-1

Subjects: Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Digital and Computational Studies, Earth and Climate Sciences, Environmental Studies, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physics

Helpful Chem 310 Resources

Excerpts from " CHEM 310: Project for Biophysical Chemistry":

Paper (5 pages) describing a specific technique and how it is applied to learn about kinetics or thermodynamics of a biophysical process.

This will need to include things like:

How does the technique work?
How does the readout of the technique relate to the process you are studying?
Find a paper that uses the technique and provides data in the form of a figure that you can describe.

Useful Books for Chemistry 310 Available from Ladd Library:

Biophysical Chemistry by Avinash Upadhyay
Published: 2009
Modern Biophysical Chemistry - Detection and Analysis of Biomolecules by Peter Jomo Walla
Published: 2014
Protein Folding Kinetics by Bengt Nölting
Published: 2005
Biophysical Chemistry of Proteins by Engelbert Buxbaum
Published: 2010
Basic Concepts of Analytical Chemistry by S. M. Khopkar
Published: 2008

Journal of Particular Interest for Chemistry 310:

Journal of Chemical Education
J Chem Ed advances chemistry teaching and learning and chemistry education research via peer-reviewed content addressing laboratory experiments, curricula, and pedagogies.
Journal of Molecular Biology
1959 to 1994 (Bates Print)
01/01/1995 to Present (Online)
Biochemistry
01/01/1962 to Present (Online)
Nature Structural Biology
1998-2003 (Online)
Note that this title continues as "Nature Molecular and Structural Biology"
Journal of Biological Chemistry
1905 to Present (Online)
Biophysical Chemistry
01/01/1995 to Present (Online)
Science Magazine
Access: 07/03/1880 to present
Nature
Access: 1963 to present
more...less...
Peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.
RNA
1995 to Present (Online)

Potentially Useful Internet Resources for Chemistry 310:

Methods in Enzymology Search Tool
You can use this online search tool to identify chapters from "Methods in Enzymology" that provide backgound information for either your technique or the biological system investigated by that technique.
Annual ReviewsComplete A-Z List
You can use this online search tool to identify articles from the various "Annual Reviews" titles (including Annual Reviews of Biochemistry and Annual Reviews of Biophysical Chemistry) that provide backgound information for either your technique or the biological system investigated by that technique.

Chemistry 310 - Biophysical Chemistry: Resources

Search Chemistry Articles

Science and Data Librarian

Helpful Chem 310 Resources