Research Tools - FYS 476 - Coastal Hazards - Research Guides at Bates College

Encyclopedia of Structural Geology and Plate Tectonics by Carl Seyfert (Editor)
Published: 2006
Online access to the Encyclopedia is available here. Note that online access is provided through web browser only. Content is not available for download.
Note that a physical copy of this Encyclopedia is also available in the Bates reference stacks.
Glossary of Geology by Klaus K.E. Neuendorf; James P. Mehl Jr.; Julia A. Jackson
ISBN: 0922152896
Published: 2011
"Contains nearly 40,000 entries, including 3,600 new terms and nearly 13,000 entries with revised definitions from the previous edition. The revisions represent both advances in scientific thought and changes in usage and they make this 800+ page hardbound a must for any earth science professional or student." -From the publisher
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science (Second Edition) by Scott Elias (Editor); Cary Mock (Editor)
Published: 2013
The second revised edition of the Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science, provides both students and professionals with an up-to-date reference work on this important and highly varied area of research. Research in the Quaternary sciences has advanced greatly in the last 10 years, especially since topics like global climate change, geologic hazards and soil erosion were put high on the political agenda. This second edition ...contains 357 broad-ranging articles (4310 pages) written at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers with a ready reference resource for information in the field.
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science (First Edition) by Scott A. Elias (Editor-In-Chief)
Published: 2006
With over 360 articles and 2,600 pages, many in full-color, the Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science provides broad ranging...articles on all of the major topics in the field. The quaternary sciences...[link] ancient prehistory to modern environments. Quaternary terrestrial sediments contain the fossil remains of existing species of flora and fauna, and their immediate predecessors. Quaternary science plays an integral part in such important issues for modern society as groundwater resources and contamination, sea level change, geologic hazards (earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, tsunamis), and soil erosion.

Potentially Useful Periodicals

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Local and national newspapers from all 50 states. Publication dates: 1690-1999.

List of Newspapers Available Electronically at Bates

Periodical Indexes/Databases Useful for Climate Issues

GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from all GeoScienceWorld journals. Also searches citations indexed in GeoRef, the most comprehensive bibliographic database in the geosciences. Quickly limit your search area by geographic location using the convenient world map. GeoScience World geo science
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. environmental geology hydrology economic geology geophysics petrology paleontology marine geology oceanography mineralogy
The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1666 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered. [From the publisher]
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Sciences and social sciences journal article citations. Searchable by author affiliation and citation count.

Google Advanced Search
Provides MANY more options for refining a Google web search (e.g. searching within a specific web site or domain, or specifying open license).

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text journals and magazines across disciplines. ebsco scholarly articles asc
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environmental policy and science journal articles. Publication dates: 1950s to present

Tips for Evaluating Scholarly Resources

Evaluating Information Found on the Internet (North Carolina State University)
A concise and informative guide describing the key points of consideration for evaluating resources to be used in scholarly research.
Beall's Predatory Journals List
List of questionable publishers and individual journals meeting Beal's criteria of "predatory".
Beall's Criteria for Determining Predatory Open-Access Publishers
How do publishers and journals make Beall's list?

Evaluating web sites