Research Guides: *American Studies: Tobacco in History & Culture

Best Bets for Tobacco in History & Culture

Oxford Bibliographies
Search to find recommended sources on scholarly topics. Most bibliographies include textbooks and general introductions.
Annual Reviews
Search for in-depth literature reviews (summaries of research on a topic) in the Annual Review of Political Science and other Annual Reviews.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text journals and magazines across disciplines. ebsco scholarly articles asc
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology journal articles. Publication dates: 1895-present soc index
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender studies journal articles.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Rhetoric, communication, film, television, mass media, and popular culture journal articles. Publication dates: early 20th century to present communication & mass media complete
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history journal articles. Citations with links to full text. Publication dates: 1964 to present america history and life ahl
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
World history (except U.S. and Canada) journal articles. Historical period: 1450 to present. Publication dates: 1954 to present.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles in biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.nursing dentistry veterinary
It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources.

For these citations, ask:

Take a look at the following sources:

Who wrote the article? What do you know about their credentials?
What is the publication that published this article, if any? Who do you think is its intended audience? Who might read it and why?
What kinds of documentation/citation of evidence appear in the article?
How is the article structured? What kinds of headings do you see in the article?
What kinds of images appear in the article?
What kinds of quotations appear in the article?

Which fits the category of “scholarly"?
Any of these articles could have a use. In what ways is the article you looked at useful? Why would you read one or the other?

Contact:

Ladd Library 134
(207) 786-6274
cschiff@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Wed. 1-4, Thurs. 6-9, and Fri. 10-1

Subjects: Africana, American Studies, Dance, Film Studies, Languages and Literatures, Latin, Music, Rhetoric, Theater