Research Tools - Math 495J - Advanced Topics in Mathematics

Article Searching

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Sciences and social sciences journal article citations. Searchable by author affiliation and citation count.
CogPrints
ArXiv.org
OAI
US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
European Patent Office
Japan Patent Office
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
UK Intellectual Property Office

arXiv
"Started in August 1991, arXiv.org is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. arXiv is maintained and operated by Cornell University with guidance from the arXiv Scientific Advisory Board and the arXiv Member Advisory Board, and with the help of numerous subject moderators."

Note that arXiv content is moderated, but not (generally) peer reviewed.

Identifying Open Access Journals

SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) indicator (SJR): Open Access
"The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains. Journals can be compared or analysed separately."
more...less...
How to cite this website
If you use the information contained in this website in a scientific paper or report, please include cite as follows:

SCImago, (n.d.). SJR — SCImago Journal & Country Rank [Portal]. Retrieved Date you Retrieve, from http://www.scimagojr.com
Directory of Open Access Journals
"DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available."
ROAD : Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources
Provides free access to bibliographic records identified by an ISSN which describe scholarly resources (e.g.journals, monographic series, conference proceedings and academic repositories) in Open Access.

Open Educational Resource (OER) Portals

OER Commons
"From a single point of access in OER Commons, you can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons' growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OER..."
more...less...
"[These] OER often have a Creative Commons license or other permission to let you know how the material may be used, reused, adapted, and shared."
OpenStax
OpenStax publishes "high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print."
MIT OpenCourseWare
"MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity."
MERLOT
"The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers."

Images

Wikimedia Commons Images
For specific information about reuse of Wikimedia images, see: Reusing content outside Wikimedia.
Flickr Creative Commons Images
Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license.

Sound

Creative Commons : Legal Music for Videos
Includes links to other sites. Always be sure that you can use the tracks in the way that you intend.

Tips for Evaluating Scholarly Resources

Beall's Predatory Journals List
List of questionable publishers and individual journals meeting Beal's criteria of "predatory".
Beall's Criteria for Determining Predatory Open-Access Publishers
How do publishers and journals make Beall's list?
Evaluating Information Found on the Internet (North Carolina State University)
A concise and informative guide describing the key points of consideration for evaluating resources to be used in scholarly research.

Descriptions of Creative Commons Licenses

Creative Commons provides "free, easy-to-use copyright licenses provide a simple, standardized way to give the public permission to share and use your creative work — on conditions of your choice."

License conditions:

Attribution (by)

ShareAlike (sa)

NonCommercial (nc)

NoDerivatives (nd)

Bates College Copyright Policy - Bates College specific copyright policy.

Helpful Browser Plug-ins

Open Access Button - The Open Access Button is an app that helps researchers, patients, students and the public get legal access to research they need and request research be made available. This product will help you find both open articles and data. Just download the browser extension and start searching. This open source tool was funded by Public Library of Science, Jisc, Open Society Foundations, Mozilla Science and Crowdfunders.
Unpaywall - This tool searches and finds full-text research papers as you browse. Data is sourced from open-access repositories including institutional repositories and reprint servers. Just download the Chrome or Firefox extension and the tool will do the rest. This open source tool was created by Impactstory with grants from the National Science Foundation and Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.