Research Guides: Iconography: Iconography

Where to start research in Iconography

Iconography is the study and interpretation of symbols, motifs, and visual elements in art, aiming to understand their cultural, historical, and contextual meanings. It reveals hidden messages, cultural significance, and the broader narratives conveyed through images, enriching our comprehension of visual representation across different time periods and cultures.

Begin your research on iconography by exploring academic databases through LibrarySearch and looking at some specialized reference materials, such as encyclopedias. Utilize library resources, books, and articles on art history and semiotics. Online museum collections and art history websites are also valuable sources.

Iconography Resources

Starting your research in LibrarySearch will help give you an idea of what is out there, in addition to starting research in some specialized databases. Thinking about the location and time period of the iconography you are interested in can help narrow down which databases might be most helpful for you. Here are a selection of databases that might have peer-reviewed research articles on iconography.

Images on JSTOR
Images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance
Searchable database including more than 200,000 images. Includes images of both classical European artworks and Renaissance works copying or adapting them.
Index of Medieval Art
(Formerly Index of Christian Art) Particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world. Significant additional holdings from Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East. Publication dates: Early apostolic times up to 1550

The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1550 (some manuscript holdings up to the middle of the sixteenth century). Particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world. This has been corrected over the last few years with the addition of significant holdings from Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, and these include manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, etc.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)

Humanities and social sciences articles and book chapters on East, Southeast, and South Asia, in Western languages. Publication dates: 1971 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography

Modern literature, language, linguistics, and folklore journal articles and books. Citations with links to full text. Publication dates: 1926 to present

These are a selection of some of the specific semiotic and iconography-related reference materials available at Ladd Library. For more, search LibrarySearch (here's a sample search for symbolism dictionaries) and see if we have a symbol dictionary or encyclopedia for the time period and culture in which you are interested.

Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art by James Hall
Location: Bookstacks N7560 .H34 2008

ISBN: 9780429962509

Published: 2018-05-04
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography by Helene E. Roberts (Editor)
Location: Reference N7560 .E53 1998

ISBN: 1579580092

Published: 1998-04-01
Tracing memory : a glossary of graphic signs and symbols in African art and culture by Clementine M. Faik-Nzuji
Location: Reference N7380 .F34 1996

ISBN: 0660159651

Published: 1997-01-01
Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC)
Location: Bookstacks N7760 .L49 1981 v.1-8

ISBN: 3760887511

Published: 1981-01-01
Medieval Iconography by John B. Friedman; Jessica M. Wegmann (Editor)
Location: Reference Z5933 .F75 1998

ISBN: 0815317530

Published: 1998-03-01
A Dictionary of Chinese Symbols: Hidden Symbols in Chinese Life and Thought
Location: Reference DS721 .E32613 1986

These are some titles focused on religious iconography. These are just a selection of the many reference materials available for iconographic dictionaries, so be sure to search LibrarySearch for the religion and the time period you are interested in.