It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featuring 4000 A-Z entries written by 120 of the leading political, social, economic, and military scholars in the United Kingdom and Ireland, this single volume reference offers a wealth of information on British history. The Oxford Companion to British History covers all facets of this storied subject, from the arrival of Julius Caesar on British shores in 55 B.C. to John Majors ill-fated back to basics initiative in the 1990s.
The Oxford Companion to Black British History is an essential reference for anyone who wants to understand the long and fascinating history of black people in Britain from classical times to the present day. It brings together a unique collection of articles that provide an overview of the black presence in Britain, and the rich and diverse contribution made to British society.
The changing story of the British Isles forms the central theme of this atlas, which covers England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales and the expansion and gradual disintegration of Britain's overseas empire.
Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth. Time period: 55 BC to the present. Bibliographic coverage: 1900 to present
This valuable reference work offers concise, expert answers to questions on all aspects of life and culture in medieval England-art, architecture, law, literature, kings, commoners, women, music, commerce, technology, warfare, religion, and many others. It takes as its scope English social, cultural, and political life from the Anglo-Saxon invasions in the fifth century to the turn of the sixteenth century.
Authority and accessibility combine to bring the history and the drama of Tudor England to life. Almost 900 engaging entries cover the life and times of Henry VIII, Mary I, Elizabeth I, William Shakespeare, and much, much more.
This fully revised and updated edition of Norman McCord's authoritative introduction to nineteenth century British history has been extended to cover the period up to the outbreak of the First World War in 1914.
This encyclopedia offers a comprehensive and up-to-date assessment of twentieth-century Britain. The biographical and topical articles, each accompanied by a brief bibliography, cover a wide array of subjects from politics to the arts. Issues of gender and the impact of the two World Wars receive special emphasis.
All subjects; a union catalog of books and other materials. 11th century to present world cat oclc firstsearch first search
WorldCat is a union catalog of records of any type of material (books, periodicals, scores, films, recordings, etc.) cataloged by over 41,000 OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries, primarily but not exclusively, from libraries in the United States, but extending to 82 other nations. There are more than 47 million records in the WorldCat database.