Research Guides: *African Studies: Getting Started with African Studies

Topic Overviews

African Studies - Oxford Bibliographies
Authoritative essays recommending the best books, articles, and other sources for the topic.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History This link opens in a new window
Essays on topics in African history, with bibliographies.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage from 1450 -
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA) This link opens in a new window
Political science and international relations journal articles.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology journal articles. Publication dates: 1895-present soc index

AfricaBib: Africana Periodical Literature Bibliograpy
A searchable collection of Africana social science titles

Africa Bibliography This link opens in a new window
1984 to present, but two or so year delay.

African History Through Sources, 1850-1945 by Nancy J. Jacobs
DT352.7 .A34 2014 v.1
Colonial contexts and everyday experiences, c. 1850-1946

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
"Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest" is the title of a collection of sources in this digital archives.
Includes Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, British Politics and Society, British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture, Children's Literature and Childhood, Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest, European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection, Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature, Photography: The World through the Lens, Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform, Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, and Women: Transnational Networks.

Aluka This link opens in a new window
Struggles for Freedom: South Africa - digitized collection of thousands of documents and other primary sources.

DISA
Freely accessible online scholarly resource focusing on the socio-political history of South Africa, particularly the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994.
Historical Papers Research Archive: University of Witwatersrand
Nelson Mandela Digital Archive Project
Apartheid: Global Perspectives, 1946-1996
Translated newspaper articles and radio broadcast transcripts from non-U.S. sources, related to South Africa and apartheid.