Resources - PLTC 222 - International Political Economy

Article Indexes

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA) This link opens in a new window
Political science and international relations journal articles.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
World history (except U.S. and Canada) journal articles. Historical coverage: 1450 to present. Publication dates: 1954 to present.

Wikimedia Commons This link opens in a new window
Creative Commons licensed images that can be incorporated into academic projects. Check to make sure that the CC license to use the material matches your needs. Also be careful that the license is actually valid in the United States. Some content may be in the Public Domain in other countries, but not in the US.
For specific information about reuse of Wikimedia images, see: Reusing content outside Wikimedia.

Smithsonian Collections
Getty Open Content
Canva
Canva is a design resource that includes a free account with limited free images and graphics. Canva Pro accounts give access to more media, but require a current subscription. Most students succeed using the free resources.

The following are sources similar to those used in I-PEEL.

CQ Researcher (2006-present) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive background and analysis on controversial issues in the news. Includes statistics, bibliographies, and pro & con opinions.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas This link opens in a new window
Overviews of the origin and cultural interpretations of subjects such as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, and others in Western thought and culture.

See Primary vs. Secondary Sources for some guidance on which is which.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text news, law, and business-related research. Publication dates: Varies by titles; 1980s to the present.
L/N
lexis nexis nexus lexus lexisnexis
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, broadcast transcripts, wire service reports and international news sources. Includes New York Times. Publication dates: 1977 to current
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
May be useful to limit to magazines.

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Data series from thousands of sources. Includes data from China Data Center.

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Limit to Market Research under Document Type.

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Books, journals, newspapers, and other print materials scanned by member libraries (including many of the largest research libraries in the US). Publication dates: Ca. 1500 to present
Collection is full text searchable. Materials in the public domain are available for reading online. Copyrighted materials are not available in full text, but often indicate page numbers where words occur. Includes many US government documents. hathi trust
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections on crime, slavery, and Indigenous history, and historical British newspaper collections, Publication dates: 17th century-present.
Newspapers
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, British Library Newspapers, The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, The Times Digital Archive, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society
Other primary source collections
Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920, Indigenous Peoples of North America, Political Extremism and Radicalism, and Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive.

Contact:

Ladd Library 132
(207) 786-6268
cmurray2@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 10-1, Tues. 6-9, and Thurs. 1-4

Subjects: African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Environmental Studies, History, Japanese, Languages and Literatures, Legal Studies, Politics, Psychology, Sociology, U. S. History