Resources - FYS 529 - Ages of Plagues - Research Guides at Bates College

Secondary sources

Aside from CBBcat for books, and LibrarySearch+ for books and articles, the following are places to find related secondary sources.

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Topical bibliographies in the humanities and social sciences. Oxford Bibliography
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history journal articles. Citations with links to full text. Publication dates: 1964 to present america history and life ahl
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles in biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.nursing dentistry veterinary
It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources.

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, broadcast transcripts, wire service reports and international news sources. Includes New York Times. Publication dates: 1977 to current
ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, broadcast transcripts, and wire service reports including NYT, Boston Globe, LA Times and Washington Post. 1850 to Current; varies with each title

U.S. Congressional Documents Collection This link opens in a new window
The bound and daily versions of Congressional Record, its three predecessor titles, and other important Congressional material. 1789 to present Hein online
The Congressional Record, first published in 1873, is essentially the complete printed version of debates, proceedings and speeches of the United States Congress. Previously congressional debates were catalogued in the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) and Congressional Globe (1833-1873). The American State Papers are a collection of 6,278 documents in 38 volumes comprising the legislative and executive documents of the first fourteen Congresses from 1789 to 1838. The Journals of the Continental Congress are the records of daily proceedings of the Continental Congress, as kept by Secretary Charles Thomson.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
Public opinion poll data archive, U.S. and some international. Time period: 1930s-present.

Contact:

Ladd Library 132
(207) 786-6268
cmurray2@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 10-1, Tues. 6-9, and Thurs. 1-4

Subjects: African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Environmental Studies, History, Japanese, Languages and Literatures, Legal Studies, Politics, Psychology, Sociology, U. S. History