It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ScopusSciences and social sciences. CogPrints
US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
European Patent Office
Japan Patent Office
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
UK Intellectual Property Office
SCOPUS offers coverage from 14,000 peer-reviewed titles from over 4,000 international publishers including 531 Open Access journals. in addition Scopus offers coverage of relevant scientific information on the Web, including author homepages, university sites, corporate information and other resources such as Preprint servers, CogPrints, ArXiv.org, OAI compliant resources, as well as the US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), the European Patent Office, the Japan Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office.
Environment Complete contains all of the content available in Environment Index, as well as full text for 400 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Environment Complete also provides full text for 80 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc. Further, the database offers full text for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
GreenFILEGreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected patents. Major areas of coverage include law, policy, economics, and social sciences; descriptive oceanography and limnology; dynamical oceanography and limnology; chemistry and geochemistry; underwater acoustics; underwater optics; marine meteorology and climatology; geology and geophysics; marine technology; vessels, underwater vehicles, and buoys; offshore and coastal structures; man-in-the-sea and diving; support services, techniques, and equipment; and commerce, trade, and economics.
Find an annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a wide range of subject areas - such as Geography, Literature, Ecology and more.
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.
Biomedical, physical and social science literature reviews. Coverage: 1930-present
Each year Annual Reviews provides authoritative, analytic reviews of significant primary research literature in over 30 focused disciplines within the biomedical, physical, and social sciences, guiding one to new contributions in each field.
A rich collection of monumental legislation for the environment, the Edmund S. Muskie Papers include his personal papers, office files, audiovisual materials, photographs, artifacts, and memorabilia.
In the 1970s he was the founder and first chair of the Senate Committee on the Budget, co-chaired the National Study Commission on Water Pollution, chaired the Legislative Review Committee of the Democratic Policy Committee, and was a member of the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee. In these positions, he sponsored landmark federal environmental protection laws, including the Clean Air Act of 1970 and the Clean Water Act of 1972.
The collection documents his youth in Rumford, Maine; his years as a student at Bates College; his personal and family life; his service in the U.S. Navy during World War II; his law practice and other professional, public service and political activities in Waterville, Maine; his terms as a member of the Maine House of Representatives (1947-1951), director of the Maine District of the U.S. Office of Price Stabilization (1951-1952), governor of Maine (1955-1959), U.S. Senator (1959-1980), and U.S. Secretary of State (May 1980 to January 1981); his election campaigns including his 1968 vice presidential race and his bid for the 1972 Democratic nomination for the presidency; and his activities after retiring from the federal government.
His work as a consultant (1943-1946) and as Rivermaster (1947-1978) of the Androscoggin River.
The collection documents the efforts of Walter Lawrance to identify, track, and resolve pollution-related problems impacting the Androscoggin River from Gorham, New Hampshire to Lewiston, Maine. The collection is composed of the reports Lawrance made of his annual studies of the river's odor and other qualities beginning in 1943 and continuing through 1977. These reports were based on water samples taken daily from late spring to early fall from hundreds of sampling stations. This work was completed by Lawrance along with several Bates College student assistants and colleagues from the mills and the College.
Also included are the annual reports of his research projects, undertaken from 1946 to 1959 with representatives from the three major paper companies located along the river and done under the auspices of the National Council for Stream Improvement. These projects focused on means of controlling and resolving water pollution, including investigating the river's flow, using sodium nitrate to replenish the water's oxygen, and filtering the waste water. Their encouragement, along with Federal pollution controls, ultimately led the paper companies to adopt the Kraft method for paper production, which resulted in significantly less pollution and a vastly improved river.
The collection also includes Lawrance's related research material, including material documenting similar work he did to improve the Presumpscot River. There is also material about civil defense against biological and chemical weapons, an area in which Lawrance maintained expertise, and a sizable collection of reference material related to water pollution.
Correspondence and other material documenting the close friendship between ecologist, biologist and author Rachel Carson and her summer neighbor Dorothy Freeman. These letters provide details about Carson's books "The Edge of the Sea" and "Silent Spring", as well as details of everyday life, friends, and associates.
Bate Archivist Pat Webber notes: "much of this material went into the book "Always, Rachel"... There are numerous photographs in the book [which are not included in this collection]."