Research Guides: EndNote 20: EndNote Windows OS Guides

Getting Started with EndNote (Windows OS)

Compatibility

Before installing EndNote Desktop, be sure that your operating system and word processor are compatible with the version of EndNote provided by Bates College:

EndNote Compatibility (Windows)

Steps for Installation

To install the software, read through the following instructions once and then perform each step:

Quit the Microsoft Word application on your computer. This is important for installation of the EndNote "Cite-While-You-Write" (i.e. CWYW) plugin.
Download the EndNote 21 zip file. The EndNote 21 zip file can be accessed from off campus with an internet connected computer. You will need to provide your Bates username and password before the file is available to you.

EndNote 21 Installer File (Windows OS)

After downloading the .zip file, you MUST extract the file before running the installation.

Right click on the .zip file and choose Extract All. From the location the files were extracted, you can run this installation.
Open the EndNote Desktop installer and install the application on your computer.
Open Microsoft Word (if available on your computer) and confirm that the CWYW plugin was installed.

Quick Reference Guides (Windows OS)

How to use EndNote 20 in seven minutes: Windows OS (YouTube)
This video provides a quick overview of the most basic workflows in EndNote 20 for Windows.

EndNote 20 (Windows) Quick Reference Guide Complete Collection (PDF)
Download a collection of all quick reference guides for the Windows version of EndNote 20 in one PDF file.

Selected topics:

EndNote 20: Library Essentials (PDF)
Common problems with installation and use of EndNote, and how to avoid them.
EndNote 20 (Windows) Guide: Library Overview (PDF)
This quick reference guide highlights the various components that comprise the EndNote 20 library window.
EndNote 20 (Windows) Guide: Adding a New Reference (PDF)
This quick reference guide highlights the New Reference window's various parts in EndNote 20 and provides data entry tips.
EndNote 20 (Windows) Guide: Edit & Manage Citation(s) (PDF)
This quick reference guide outlines the steps involved when customizing the appearance of an in-text citation.
EndNote 20 (Windows) Guide: Insert Citation (PDF)
This quick reference guide shows how to find and insert references from your EndNote library while staying in Microsoft Word.
EndNote 20 (Windows) Guide: Library Syncing (PDF)
This quick reference guides walks through configuring EndNote Sync.
EndNote 20 (Windows) Guide: Library Sharing (PDF)
This quick reference guide gives a tour of the Sharing window in EndNote 20.
Modifying Reference Types and Output Styles-Windows (PDF)
If you cannot find the Citation Style you need, EndNote desktop includes editors for creating or modifying styles. This downloadable guide has step-by-step instructions.

Downloading or Modifying Citation Styles and Import Filters

EndNote updates and improves its Citation Styles (e.g. Chicago, APA, etc.) as they are changed by the publishers and societies.

The following "Citation Syles" link will take you to a complete collection of several thousand citation styles which can be searched by society name, journal title, or acronym:
- Citation Styles [Please note: EndNote refers to citation styles as "Output Styles.]

Occasionally, EndNote requires a special filter to import bibliographic information from a database (e.g. OCLC Worldcat).:

The following "Import Filters" link will take you to a complete list of import filters:
- Import filters

Get Help

For solutions to specific problems, please contact a Research Librarian.

If a research librarian is unavailable, you may also :

Call EndNote Technical Support using their toll free number +1-800-336-4474 [Press 4].

Phone support is available 9 AM to 8 PM Monday through Friday.
Submit an email technical support request via EndNote Community