Library of Congress Map CollectionsSearch or browse over 12,000 digitized map and atlas images from the Library of Congress. Search filters include: Sites and Collections (e.g. Cities and Towns, Military Battles, and Cultural Landscapes), Subjects (e.g. United States, Aerial Views, and Harbors), and Languages.
Users should check the catalog record with each map for publication and source info. However, almost all of the maps on this site can be used for educational and research purposes without restriction.
Of course, their source must still be cited.
David Rumsey Map CollectionA digital collection of more than 43,000 map, atlas, chart and image files focussing on North and South America, but also representing Europe, Asia, and Africa. Map and atlas files are tagged with keywords corresponding to the broad categories Who, What, Where and When. The impressive granularity within these categories allows for fairly specific item identification.
A wealth of early reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes, this full-text set includes all subjects/topics that the U.S. government has researched and reported on dealing with international affairs, disasters, social issues, Indian affairs, commerce and communication, explorations, and more. Excellent searching and browsing features.
Osher Map Library (USM)The impressive Osher Map Library contains a growing collection of more than 400,000 historical and contemporary maps in categories which include:
Early Maine State Maps
Maps of Portland, Maine (1836 - 1981)
15th Century Navigational Charts and Globes
Early Modern and Modern Maps of Spain and Spanish Territories
Detailed large-scale building and land-use maps of 148 Maine towns and cities.
Combined with other sources such as city directories, photographs, small-scale maps, census records, genealogies, and statistical data, the Sanborn maps provide an unparalleled picture of life in American towns and cities. The maps provide a wealth of information, such as building outline, size and shape, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, and property numbers. Plans often include details on construction materials and building use; and also depict pipelines, railroads, wells, water mains, dumps, and other features likely to affect the property's vulnerability to earthquake, fire, and flood.
Map data for the U.S. including boundaries, roads, rivers, and other essentials.
Collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. It has many uses ranging from recreation to scientific analysis to emergency response. The National Map is easily accessible for display on the Web, as products and services, and as downloadable data. The geographic information available from The National Map includes orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover.
Perry-Castaneda Library Map CollectionThis link opens in a new windowA digital collection of ~55,000 current and historical maps and atlases. Content age and type varies broadly and the site has a very good collection of maps produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, the U.S. National Park Service and the U.S. Geological Survey.
World Factbook Regional and World MapsThis digital collection of maps made available by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) contains subject-based regional and world maps illustrating geography, politics, physiography and transportation. Regions covered include Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burma, Cape Verde, Chile, China, Colombia, Cote D’Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Liberia, Lithuania, Macau, Madagascar, Moldova, New Zealand, Niger, Pakistan, Peru, Poland, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovenia, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor Leste, Togo, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen and Zimbabwe.
World Maps (Oxford)This link opens in a new windowOver 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps. Current
This title now includes over 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps.
Osher Map Library (USM)The impressive Osher Map Library contains a growing collection of more than 400,000 historical and contemporary maps in categories which include:
Early Maine State Maps
Maps of Portland, Maine (1836 - 1981)
15th Century Navigational Charts and Globes
Early Modern and Modern Maps of Spain and Spanish Territories
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA): United States
Urban Area Maps for NPDES MS4 Phase II Stormwater Permits"The universe of regulated small MS4s automatically expands every 10 years based on where population growth has concentrated in certain areas of the country as identified by each decennial census. This page provides information on the U.S. Census data that is used to identify newly [and historically] designated small MS4s.} -EPA
Department of Environmental Protection (DEP): Maine
Maine DEP Maps and DataThe Maine DEP Maps and Data page provides access to spatial data from potential and actual sources of contamination to Maine’s groundwater. The site also links to the GIS at the Maine department of Environmental Protection which provides spatial data for addressing Maine-specific questions such as mapping groundwater contamination, modeling ozone air pollution, or monitoring invasive species in Maine lakes.
Maine DEP Spatial DataThe Maine DEP produces and distributes spatial data from the Bureau of Remediation and Waste Management, the Bureau of Land and Water Quality and the Bureau of Air Quality. Data are provided in a range of formats including Shapefile, ArcGIS Online, Google Earth and PDF.
Isobioclimates, land surface forms, topographic moisture potential, surficial lithography, structural footprints and labeled ecosystems available most comprehensively for the United States, South America, and Africa.
North American Plant Atlas (NAPA)Provided by the Biota of North America Program (BOPA), this digital collection contains state- and county-level species maps for virtually all free-living vascular plants of North America. Map data are conveniently organized alphabetically by species / genus or family. Family lists are organized by both “traditional family” as well as the Angiosperm Phylogeny Group III (APG-III) modified classification. Pytogeographic maps are also organized by phylogenetic grouping. The collection also includes many subject themed specialty maps including maps of the 100 most thoroughly widespread and distributed species, the largest North American genera and the largest North American families, soil conditions (e.g. pH conditions, wetland soils with nutrient-rich clays, volcanic soils and mineral soils with high organic content) and climate type.
Zoogeographic Realms and Regions: Center for Macroecology, Evolution and Climate (CMEC)This site contains the Google Earth and GIS map files illustrating the recent update of Alfred Russel Wallace’s seminal 1876 map of the zoogeographic regions of the world. These map data were generated as part of the 2013 Science paper “An Update of Wallace’s Zoogeographic Regions of the World”. This updated map revises and expands the 6 regions previously defined by Wallace to 11 major realms which are further subdivided into 20 regions. The revised map was created from phylogenetic and geographical distribution data from 21,037 species of amphibians, birds and mammals.
Red List of Threatened Species: International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)Species distribution spatial data for more than 43,000 species are provided as shapefiles. Species ranges are provided with DBF files listing taxonomic data and distribution status. GIS data are available for mammals, amphibians, corals, reptiles, birds, marine fish, mangroves, seargrasses, sea cucumbers, fresh water and cone snails.
Global Freshwater Biodiversity AtlasFrom the Web Site:
"The Global Freshwater Biodiversity Atlas is a collection of published and open access freshwater biodiversity maps in addition to a gateway for geographical information and spatial data at different scales. It offers dynamic online maps accompanied by short articles with background information. It also provides links to publications and data sources related to freshwater biodiversity at the global, continental and local scale."
U.S. Census Data
Social ExplorerThis link opens in a new windowDemographic information and maps of the United States, from the Decennial Census and American Community Survey data. 1790-present
NRCS USDA Geopatial Data GatewayAs described on their site:
“The Geospatial Data Gateway (GDG) is the One Stop Source for environmental and natural resources data, at anytime, from anywhere, to anyone. The Gateway allows you to choose your area of interest, browse and select data from our catalog, customize the format, and have it downloaded or shipped on CD or DVD.”
Among the data types available are Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing (TIGER) products from the U. S. Census Bureau, monthly and annual average precipitation data, annual minimum and maximum average temperature data, national elevation data, geographic names for populated and non-populated areas, national scale geology by state, 113th Congress districts by state, Urban areas by state, American Indian lands by state, Protected areas land ownership, National hydrogeography data, Watershed boundary datasets, national land cover datasets, Ortho imagery, Common resource areas, soil survey data, Primary and Secondary roads.
When available, data can be requested by State, County, Bounding Rectangle or custom Area of Interest.
The Maine Geological Survey has produced reports, maps, and web pages for over half a century, continually expanding the knowledge, detail, and sophistication of Maine geology.
Soil Survey Data: Maine Government Documents
Soil survey laboratory data and descriptions for some soils of New England States (1968)Soil survey laboratory data and descriptions for some soils of New England States
Soil Conservation Service, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture ; in cooperation with Connecticut (Storrs), Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont Agricultural Experiment Stations; U. S. Government Printing Office (1968)
Government Call Number: A57.52:20
Soil survey of Aroostook County, Maine, Southern Part (1964)Soil survey of Aroostook County, Maine Report by John R. Arno. Soils surveyed by J. S. Hardesty and others.
Washington, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Soil Conservation Service; U. S. Government Printing Office (1964)
Government Call Number: A 57.38: 961/6
Soil survey of Aroostook County, Maine, Northeastern Part (1964)Soil survey of Aroostook County, Maine Report by John R. Arno. Soils surveyed by J. S. Hardesty and others.
Washington, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Soil Conservation Service; U. S. Government Printing Office (1964)
Government Call Number: A 57.38: 958/27 (Colby, Bowdoin)
Soil survey, Cumberland County, Maine (1974)Soil survey, Cumberland County, Maine by Gary Hedstrom.
U. S. Government Printing Office (1974)
Government Document Call number: A 57.38: C 91
Soil survey of Franklin County area and part of Somerset County (2003)Soil survey of Franklin County area and part of Somerset County, Maine by Gary T. Hedstrom
U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service; U. S. Government Printing Office (2003)
Government Document Call number: A 57.38/19:F 85
Soil survey of Hancock County Area, Maine (1998)Soil survey of Hancock County Area, Maine by Glendon B. Jordan
United States Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service ; in cooperation with Maine Agriculture and Forest Experiment Station, and Maine Soil and Water Conservation Commission; U. S. Government Printing Office (1998)
Government Call Number: A 57.38/19:H 19
Soil survey of Kennebec County, Maine (1978)Soil survey of Kennebec County, Maine by Albert P. Faust and Kenneth J. LaFlamme.
National Cooperative Soil Survey, U. S. Government Printing Office (1978)
Government Document Call number: A 57.38: K 37
Soil survey data for growth management in Kennebec County, Maine (1989)Soil survey data for growth management in Kennebec County, Maine
U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Soil Conservation Service; U. S. Government Printing Office (1989)
Government Document Call number: S599.M2 S644 1989 (Colby)
Soil survey of Knox and Lincoln Counties (1987)Soil survey of Knox and Lincoln Counties, Maine by Gary T. Hedstrom.
U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Soil Conservation Service; U. S. Government Printing Office (1987)
Government Document Call number: A 57.38: K 77/6
Soil survey of Oxford County area, Maine (1995)Soil survey of Oxford County area, Maine by David E Wilkinson
United States Department of Agriculture, Soil Conservation Service ; in cooperation with Maine Agricultural Experiment Station and Maine Soil and Water Conservation Commission; U. S. Government Printing Office (1995)
Government Call Number: A 57.38/19:OX 2
Soil survey of Penobscot County, Maine (1963)Soil survey, Penobscot County, Maine
United States Department of Agriculture, Soil Conservation Service, in cooperation with University of Maine Agricultural Experiment Station; U. S. Government Printing Office (1963)
Government Document Call Number: A 57.38: 959/28
Soil survey, Somerset County, Maine: southern part (1972)Soil survey, Somerset County, Maine: southern part by John R. Arno and others
U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Soil Conservation Service; U. S. Government Printing Office (1972)
Government Document Call number: A 57.38:So5/4
Soil survey of Waldo County Maine (1955)Soil survey of Waldo County Maine by K. V. Goodman and others
U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Soil Conservation Service; U. S. Government Printing Office (1955)
Government Document Call number: A 57.38: 940/16
Soil survey of Waldo County Maine (1984)Soil survey of Waldo County Maine
U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Soil Conservation Service in cooperation with Maine Agricultural Experiment Station and Maine Soil and Water Conservation Commission; U. S. Government Printing Office (1984)
Government Document Call number: A 57.38:W 14
Soil survey of York County, Maine (1952)Soil survey of York County, Maine by K.V. Goodman
Division of Soil Survey, Bureau of Plant Industry, Soils, and Agricultural Engineering, Agricultural Research Administration, United States Department of Agriculture; U. S. Government Printing Office (1952)
Government Document Call number: A 77.514:939/11
Soil survey of York County, Maine (1982)Soil survey of York County, Maine
U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Soil Conservation Service; U. S. Government Printing Office (1982)
Government Document Call number: A 57.38:Y 8/2
