Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Critical Companion to J. R. R. Tolkien
Location: REF PR6039.O32 Z8187 2011
The new Critical Companion to J.R.R. Tolkien provides a reliable, up-to-date, and encyclopedic source of information on this influential writer. Coverage includes: A concise but thorough biography of Tolkien Entries on all the novels, stories, and poems Tolkien published in his lifetime, including a chronology, a list of Internet sources, a bibliography of Tolkien's works, and a secondary source bibliography.
A Companion to J. R. R. Tolkien
This is a complete resource for scholars and students of Tolkien, as well as avid fans, with coverage of his life, work, dominant themes, influences, and the critical reaction to his writing. An in-depth examination of Tolkien's entire work by a cadre of top scholars ;Provides up-to-date discussion and analysis of Tolkien's scholarly and literary works, including his latest posthumous book, as well as addressing contemporary adaptations, including the new Hobbit films; Investigates various themes across his body of work, such as mythmaking, medieval languages, nature, war, religion, and the defeat of evil. Discusses the impact of his work on art, film, music, gaming, and subsequent generations of fantasy writers.
Tolkien: the illustrated encyclopedia
Location: REF PR6039.O32 Z634 1991
The first encyclopedic guide to the world of Middle-Earth and the Undying Lands. The author of A Tolkien Bestiary includes five majorsubject areas- -History, Geography, Sociology, Natural History, and Biography--in this must-have reference for all Tolkien fans. 200 illustrations, many in full color.
The Tolkien Society
An organization focused on the life and works of JRR Tolkien, described as a "literary society and international fan club."
A searchable bibliography of scholarship on Tolkien, maintained by Wheaton College.
A "Wikipedia" style resource on Tolkien scholarship and related topics. Any registered user can edit this online encyclopedia.
A creative web project dedicated to the works of J.R.R. Tolkien, particularly strong in visualizations.