It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chem S11: The Natural Science of Honeybees: Bee Project Research Tools
A premium resource (i.e. you pay for it with your tuition) that can serve as a workhorse for primary literature searches.
SCOPUS offers coverage from 14,000 peer-reviewed titles from over 4,000 international publishers including 531 Open Access journals. in addition Scopus offers coverage of relevant scientific information on the Web, including author homepages, university sites, corporate information and other resources such as Preprint servers, CogPrints, ArXiv.org, OAI compliant resources, as well as the US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), the European Patent Office, the Japan Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office.
A publicly available search tool for the primary literature. Complementary to Scopus with many of the same features. You pay for this one, too--with your federal taxes.
PubMed is a database of citations and abstracts for millions of articles from thousands of journals in the areas of general science, chemistry, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. It includes links to full-text articles at several thousand journal web sites as well as to most of the articles in PubMed Central. PubMed does not have citations for certain types of PubMed Central material, such as book reviews.
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Coverage ranges from 1977 to current and varies with title.
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.
Search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998, including titles from all 50 states.
Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
Search selected American newspapers published from 1836-1922. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). The site is still a work in progress.
Searchable collection of select historical Latin American newspapers published from 1805-1922. Remember, honey bee in Spanish is "miel de abeja"!
Searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers. Once completed this collection will include 35 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922 in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Guyana, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad and Venezuela.
Links to electronic versions of the Sun-Journal available through library databases, and to library catalog records of historic Lewiston newspapers available on microfilm at Bates College.
Lewiston Daily Sun is available at: Lewiston Public Library (1904-1989), Auburn public Library (1902-1989), and the University of Maine -- Orono.
Links to electronic versions of the Sun-Journal available through library databases, and to library catalog records of historic Lewiston newspapers available on microfilm at Bates College. **NOTE: Searching/Indexing is available from the Sun-Journal for material not published online. Be as specific as possible with requests, as there are charges for searches, payable in advance. Call Customer Service at 784-5411, M-F 8AM-4:30PM. Lewiston Daily Sun is available at: Lewiston Public Library (1904-1989), Auburn Public Library (1902-1989), and the University of Maine - Orono.
Full-text, searchable digital copy of The Times of London. Includes every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement. British perspective on major international events from the French Revolution through the Iraq War. Coverage: 1785-2008
Primary sources, including books and monographs, newspapers and periodicals, diaries and personal letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, and etc. Coverage: 1780-1910
Includes Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, British Politics and Society, British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture, Children's Literature and Childhood, Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest, European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection, Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature, Photography: The World through the Lens, Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform, Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, and Women: Transnational Networks.
Topical bibliographies in the humanities and social sciences. Oxford Bibliography
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.
Provides access to Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
Over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Free registration required to download images. Coverage: Ancient to contemporary
Particularly strong in all areas of art, architecture, design, and illustration (including maps) but also featuring images relevant to the humanities and sciences.
Good Sources for Honeybee Information that Might Not be Obvious or Would Take a While to Find:
The dissertation presents an annotated bibliography of American books on bees and beekeeping from the earliest books through 1992. The stated scope of the bibliography is to include single subject publications on bees and beekeeping, as well as publications with more than ten pages on bees, (1) which are written by Americans in any language, irrespective of place of publication; and (2) which are written in (or translated into) English by those not American, and published in America north of Mexico.
The Internet Archive is an online, Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.As an example, search for "Bee culture in Maine".
Basic how-to beekeeping is the mainstay, but also contains articles on honey plants, pollination, marketing, do-it-yourself building, and personality and business profiles. Issues from 2009 to present available.
"The Hive and the Honeybee has ... grown to include over thirty key monographs as well as the first forty volumes of the American Bee Journal, covering the years 1861 through 1900 of that landmark publication."
Image Resources with Explicit Creative Commons Licenses:
Creative Commons licensed images that can be incorporated into academic projects. Check to make sure that the CC license to use the material matches your needs. Also be careful that the license is actually valid in the United States. Some content may be in the Public Domain in other countries, but not in the US.