It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Holocaust and Comparative Genocide : Resources
Jewish Studies and Holocaust Studies journal articles and books. Coverage: 1966 to present
RAMBI is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Israel.
The Holocaust and Human Rights Center of Maine promotes universal respect for human rights through outreach and education. Using the lessons of the Holocaust and other events past and present we encourage individuals and communities to reflect and act upon their moral responsibilities to confront prejudice, intolerance and discrimination.
The project collects oral histories of surviving Shanghai Jews, focusing especially on the German-speaking refugees. The interviews show not only how they survived, but also how they created a community of synagogues, cafes, theaters, schools, and newspapers. The first interviews were done on a trip to China in spring 1989. The rest were taped in Florida, California, Berlin, Vienna, Salzburg, Chicago, and other places.
The collection consists of 99 audiotaped interviews with over 115 Shanghai Jews. Currently 64 of the interviews have been transcribed and transcription work continues. These interviews are made accessible for research purposes only, and may not be reproduced, published, or quoted from without permission of the collection's creator.
American and Canadian immigrant primary sources. Coverage: Colonial to 1950
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants.
Search tool for a number of personal narrative collections.
The index contains diary entries, letter entries, and oral history entries. It also contains pointers to audio and video files and bibliographic records. Approximately one quarter of the index points to materials that are in copyright.
Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Includes video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation.