It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EACS 109 - Global Change: Research Tools
An exploration of the human impact on the dynamic interactions between the Earth's biosphere, lithosphere, hydrosphere, and the atmosphere.
An interdisciplinary research unit organized to conduct research and graduate education focused on variability of Earth's climate, ecosystems, and other environmental systems and on the interaction between humans and the natural environment. The Institute provides expertise on climate-related matters to the people and governments of Maine, the Nation, and beyond.
This  report [and it's 2015 update] consider past change over geologic time, recent evidence of accelerated rates of change, and the implications of continued climate change in Maine during the 21st century as a result of greenhouse gas emissions and their associated pollutants.
Even if a coordinated response succeeds in eliminating excess greenhouse gas emissions by the end of the century, something that appears highly unlikely today, climate change will continue because the elevated levels of carbon dioxide (CO2) can persist in the atmosphere for thousands of years to come.
dedicated to publishing the most significant and cutting-edge research on the science of climate change, its impacts and wider implications for the economy, society and policy.
Access: 10/01/2010 to present
Climate research concerned with large-scale variability of the atmosphere, oceans, and land surface, including the cryosphere; past, present and projected future changes in the climate system (including those caused by human activities); climate simulation and prediction.
Access: 01/01/1988 to present.
Full text articles from all 46 GeoScienceWorld journals. Also search the 3.9 million citations indexed in GeoRef--the most comprehensive bibliographic database in the geosciences.
GeoScienceWorld allows you to search by geographic location as well as by keyword. Quickly limit your search area using the convenient world map. GeoScience World geo science
Geology/geosciences. Coverage: 1669 to present (North America); 1933 to present (World) Geoscience geochemistry
GeoRef is the most comprehensive bibliographic database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 100,000 references a year. The database contains over 3.6 million references from more than 3,500 journals to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Subjects covered include geochemistry, environmental and engineering geology, hydrology, economic geology, geophysics, petrology, paleontology, marine geology and oceanography, and mineralogy.
Sciences and social sciences journal articles. CogPrints
US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
European Patent Office
Japan Patent Office
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
UK Intellectual Property Office
SCOPUS offers coverage from 14,000 peer-reviewed titles from over 4,000 international publishers including 531 Open Access journals. in addition Scopus offers coverage of relevant scientific information on the Web, including author homepages, university sites, corporate information and other resources such as Preprint servers, CogPrints, ArXiv.org, OAI compliant resources, as well as the US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), the European Patent Office, the Japan Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office.
Environmental policy and science journal articles. Coverage: 1950s to present
Environment Complete contains all of the content available in Environment Index, as well as full text for 400 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Environment Complete also provides full text for 80 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc. Further, the database offers full text for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
The second revised edition of the Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science, provides both students and professionals with an up-to-date reference work on this important and highly varied area of research. Research in the Quaternary sciences has advanced greatly in the last 10 years, especially since topics like global climate change, geologic hazards and soil erosion were put high on the political agenda. This second edition ...contains 357 broad-ranging articles (4310 pages) written at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers with a ready reference resource for information in the field.