Medieval studies journal articles, essay collections and conference proceedings. Publication dates: 1967 to present
The International Medieval Bibliography is a comprehensive bibliography of j in this this interdisciplinary field. Areas covered include classics, English language and literature, history and archaeology, theology and philosophy, Medieval European languages and literatures, Arabic and Islamic studies, history of education, art history, music, theatre and performance arts, rhetoric and communication studies. Dates covered range from 400 to 1500 A.D., and geographic coverage includes Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. The database also allows users to search the Bibliographie de Civilisation Medievale, an index of over 40,000 books and 64,000 book reviews on medieval topics since 1957.
Topical bibliographies in the humanities and social sciences. Oxford Bibliography
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.
An annotated bibliography from scholar Christopher Snyder on King Arthur's influence spanning centuries, from Welsh poetry to Tennyson's verse and modern references like Kennedy's Camelot. Synder asks whether Arthur's myth stems from a real historical figure or a legend based on a warrior.
This is an annotated bibliography of literary research on Sir Thomas Malory's "Morte D'arthur". Printed in 1485, celebrates knighthood's honor, male prowess, adventure, camaraderie, and love. It embodies both chivalry's pinnacle and its self-destructive nature. The work bridges medieval and modern, reflecting a nostalgic, past-focused medievalism. Initially published for nationalist reasons, it appealed to a diverse audience with its accessible spoken language.