Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries or photographs. Digital reproductions of the materials are available in some cases.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from 1836-1963 (most pre-1925) and a directory of American newspapers published between 1690 and the present.
Maine Memory Network This link opens in a new window
Historical photographs and documents from across Maine. A project of the Maine Historical Society.
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
An online library offering permanent access to historical collections in digital format.
Online Archive of California
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Rocky Mountain Online Archive
The Rocky Mountain Online Archive is your source of information about archival collections in Colorado, New Mexico and Wyoming. Specialized guides, called finding aids, give detailed descriptions of primary source materials located at twenty-seven different repositories. Search the finding aids to discover what historical materials are available for study and where those collections are located.
The Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America documents the lives of women of the past and present for the future and furthers the Radcliffe Institute's commitment to women, gender, and society.
Smithsonian Online Virtual Archives
The Smithsonian Online Virtual Archives (SOVA) provides integrated access to descriptions and detailed inventories of thousands of primary resource collections maintained by archival units across the Smithsonian.
Digital Public Library of America
Make millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience.
The Digital South Asia Library
The Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users.
South Asia Open Archives
South Asia Open Archives is a free open-access resource for research and teaching - a rich and growing curated collection of key historical and contemporary sources in arts, humanities and social sciences, from and about South Asia, in English and other languages of the region.
World Digital Library
Launched in 2009, the World Digital Library (WDL) was a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, with the support of UNESCO, and contributions from libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations around the world.
Online Collections of Writing
Making Waves by
Location: E184.O6 M24 1989
An anthology of writings by and about Asian American women.
Making More Waves by
Location: PS508.A8 M35 1997
Asian American writers of all ages explore a range of identities through poetry, fiction, essays, and memoirs
Asian American Short Story Writers by
Location: REF PS153.A84 A828 2003
This volume includes alphabetically arranged entries for 49 nationally and internationally acclaimed Asian American writers of short fiction. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and includes a biography, a discussion of major works and themes, a survey of the writer's critical reception, and primary and secondary bibliographies.
Asian American Literature by
Location: PS508.A8 A74 2012 v1-4
v. 1. Literary History: criticism and theory
v. 2. Prose: fiction and non-fiction
v. 3. Poetry
v. 4. Drama and performance
Subjects: Art and Visual Culture
, Classical and Medieval Studies
, European Studies
, Gender and Sexuality Studies
, Greek (Ancient)
, Hispanic Studies
, Languages and Literatures
, Latin American Studies
Images and Film
Prelinger Archives- Films
Prelinger Archives holds approximately 11,000 digitized and videotape titles (all originally derived from film) and a large collection of home movies, amateur and industrial films.
NYPL Digital Collections
Digitized material from the collections of the New York Public Library, including images, archival material, performances, and books.