Getting Started with Research - EACS 223 - Earth Materials

Try Searching in An Article Index

An article index is like Google Search if it only searched journal articles. Below you will find several article indexes that should help you find your primary scientific research article.

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Geology/geosciences journal articles. Publication dates: 1669 to present (North America); 1933 to present (World)
Geoscience geochemistry
environmental geology
hydrology
economic geology
geophysics
petrology
paleontology
marine geology
oceanography
mineralogy
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from all GeoScienceWorld journals. Also searches citations indexed in GeoRef, the most comprehensive bibliographic database in the geosciences.
GeoScienceWorld allows you to search by geographic location as well as by keyword. Quickly limit your search area using the convenient world map. GeoScience World geo science
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Sciences and social sciences journal article citations. Searchable by author affiliation and citation count.
CogPrints
ArXiv.org
OAI
US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
European Patent Office
Japan Patent Office
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
UK Intellectual Property Office
Semantic Scholar This link opens in a new window
Computer science and biomedicine citations from PubMed, ArXiv, Springer Nature, and more.

Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences
Covers significant developments in all areas of earth and planetary sciences, from climate, environment, and geological hazards to the formation of planets and the evolution of life.
Access: 1973 to present.

Try Searching in a Single Journal

If Bates has access to a specific journal, you can search within it very easily!

From the Ladd Library home page, select the "CBBcat" button.
Select the "Journal Title" search button.
Enter the title of the journal you want to search within and click the magnifying glass.
Use the resulting search box to search within the specified journal.

A VERY Small Sample of Journals Accessible From Ladd Library

American Mineralogist
The journal of the Mineralogical Society of America (MSA), publishes original scientific research in fields including igneous and metamorphic petrology, experimental mineralogy and petrology, crystal chemistry and crystal-structure determinations, mineral spectroscopy, mineral physics, isotope geochemistry, major and trace element geochemistry, planetary material science, clay minerals, mineral surface science, geochemistry of mineral-fluid systems, environmental mineralogy.
Mineralogy and Petrology
Devoted to multidisciplinary coverage of the entire field of mineralogy, petrology, and geochemistry focusing on mineralogically-oriented topics in crystallography, crystal chemistry, applied mineralogy, mineral physics, the study of ore deposits, and environmental mineralogy.
Contributions to Mineralogy and Petrology
High quality research papers in the fields of igneous and metamorphic petrology, geochemistry and mineralogy. Topics of interest include: major element, trace element and isotope geochemistry, geochronology, experimental petrology, igneous and metamorphic petrology, mineralogy, major and trace element mineral chemistry and thermodynamic modeling of petrologic and geochemical processes.
Chemical Geology
Concerned with chemical processes in igneous, metamorphic, and sedimentary petrology, low- and high-temperature aqueous solutions, biogeochemistry and the environment.
Geochimica et Cosmochimica Acta
Research papers in a wide range of subjects including glasses and crystalline solids, and igneous and metamorphic petrology.
Journal of Metamorphic Geology
The journal, which is published nine times a year, encompasses the entire range of metamorphic studies, from the scale of the individual crystal to that of lithospheric plates, including regional studies of metamorphic terranes, modelling of metamorphic processes, microstructural and deformation studies in relation to metamorphism, geochronology and geochemistry in metamorphic systems, the experimental study of metamorphic reactions, properties of metamorphic minerals and rocks and the economic aspects of metamorphic terranes.
Earth and Planetary Science Letters
EPSL focuses on physical and chemical processes, the evolution and general properties of the Earth and planets - from their deep interiors to their atmospheres.
Tectonophysics
The prime focus of Tectonophysics [is] high-impact original research and reviews in the fields of kinematics, structure, composition, and dynamics of the solid Earth at all scales.
Lithos
High-quality, original research papers on mineralogy, petrology and geochemistry, emphasizing the application of mineralogy and geochemistry to petrogenetic problems.
Elements
An international magazine of mineralogy, petrology, and geochemistry.

Earth Materials Books

Lists of relevant physical and electronic books related to Geological sciences are provided below to kick start your research. To find things even more relevant to your specific interests, search the Bates library catalog.

Physical Books

Essentials of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology [ Bryce Ronald Frost] Link
Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology [Anthony R. Philpots] Link
Principles of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology [John D. Winter] Link
Introduction to Minerology (2nd Edition) [William D. Nesse] Link
Introduction to Optical Minerology [William D. Nesse] Link
Volcanic and Igneous Plumbing Systems : Understanding Magma Transport, Storage, and Evolution in the Earth's Crust
[Steffi Burchardt, editor] Link

E-Books

Introduction to Mineraology and Petrology Link
Petrology of Sedimentary Rocks Link
Petrology Principles and Practice Link
Quantitative Textural Measurements in Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology Link
Highlights in Applied Mineralogy Link
Spectroscopic Methods in Mineralogy and Materials Sciences Link
Highlights in Mineralogical Crystallography Link
Igneous rocks : IUGS Classification and Glossary Link
Topics in Igneous Petrology Link
Metamorphic Rocks and Their Geodynamic Significance : A Petrological Handbook Link
Petrogenesis of Metamorphic Rocks Link
Structural Geology : The Mechanics of Deforming Metamorphic Rocks Link
X-Ray Fluorescence Spectrometry (XRF) in Geoarchaeology Link
X-ray Fluorescence Spectrometry and Related Techniques an Introduction Link
Compendium of Surface and Interface Analysis Link
Scanning Electron Microscopy and X-Ray Microanalysis Link
Spectroscopic Methods in Mineralogy and Materials Sciences Link
Springer Handbook of Microscopy Link

American Mineralogist Document and Reference Guidelines

American Mineralogist Information for Authors
General document format guidelines for the American Mineralogist journal.
AM Guidelines for References [Text]
AM Guidelines for References [Video]

American Mineralogist Archives
The Table of Contents for the American Mineralogist electronic archives.
Browse articles here for formatting examples.

EACS 223 Project Google Worksheet
Note that this is view only. Save a copy to your Google Drive and then share it with the other members of your group.