Research Guides: *Philosophy: Getting Started in Philosophy

Best Bets for Philosophy

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Philosopher's Index database contains bibliographic citations with author abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy with complete coverage of all major articles from anthologies and books.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text journals and magazines across disciplines. ebsco scholarly articles asc
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Topical bibliographies in the humanities and social sciences. Oxford Bibliography
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.

Cambridge Companions: Philosophy and Religion Collections of essays addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism.

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Topical bibliographies in the humanities and social sciences. Oxford Bibliography
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.

Cambridge Companions: Philosophy and Religion Collections of essays addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A reference book on philosophy from scholars around the world.

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Philosophy journal articles.
Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Religious studies journal articles, essays, and book reviews. Publication dates: 1949 to present

PhilPapers
The largest open access repository in philosophy, PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.
more...less...
You may see a pop up indicating Bates does not subscribe to PhilPapers. You can still see all content in the repository.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Humanities, social sciences, and science full text journals. Recent years not included.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals. Publication dates: mostly 1960 to present (some earlier)

He/Him/His

Contact:

Ladd Library 130
(207) 786-6264
bpeck@bates.edu

Subjects: Education, Philosophy, Religious Studies