It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
J.R.R. Tolkien: Research Resources
Resources on the academic study of British author J.R.R. Tolkien.
The new Critical Companion to J.R.R. Tolkien provides a reliable, up-to-date, and encyclopedic source of information on this influential writer. Coverage includes: A concise but thorough biography of Tolkien Entries on all the novels, stories, and poems Tolkien published in his lifetime, including a chronology, a list of Internet sources, a bibliography of Tolkien's works, and a secondary source bibliography.
This is a complete resource for scholars and students of Tolkien, as well as avid fans, with coverage of his life, work, dominant themes, influences, and the critical reaction to his writing. An in-depth examination of Tolkien's entire work by a cadre of top scholars ;Provides up-to-date discussion and analysis of Tolkien's scholarly and literary works, including his latest posthumous book, as well as addressing contemporary adaptations, including the new Hobbit films; Investigates various themes across his body of work, such as mythmaking, medieval languages, nature, war, religion, and the defeat of evil. Discusses the impact of his work on art, film, music, gaming, and subsequent generations of fantasy writers.
The first encyclopedic guide to the world of Middle-Earth and the Undying Lands. The author of A Tolkien Bestiary includes five majorsubject areas- -History, Geography, Sociology, Natural History, and Biography--in this must-have reference for all Tolkien fans. 200 illustrations, many in full color.
Medieval studies journal articles, essay collections and conference proceedings. Publication dates: 1967 to present
The International Medieval Bibliography is a comprehensive bibliography of j in this this interdisciplinary field. Areas covered include classics, English language and literature, history and archaeology, theology and philosophy, Medieval European languages and literatures, Arabic and Islamic studies, history of education, art history, music, theatre and performance arts, rhetoric and communication studies. Dates covered range from 400 to 1500 A.D., and geographic coverage includes Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. The database also allows users to search the Bibliographie de Civilisation Medievale, an index of over 40,000 books and 64,000 book reviews on medieval topics since 1957.
Topical bibliographies in the humanities and social sciences. Oxford Bibliography
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.