It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Shakespeare: Reading Shakespeare
A guide to resources on the Bard, William Shakespeare.
A digital collection of pre-1642 editions of William Shakespeare's plays. A cross-Atlantic collaboration has also produced an interactive interface for the detailed study of these geographically distant quartos, with full functionality for all thirty-two quarto copies of Hamlet held by participating institutions.
A Digital Anthology of Early Modern English Drama from the Folger Shakespeare Library opens a window on the vibrant theatrical community in which Shakespeare built his career and features the plays by other playwrights, illuminating an extraordinary era of artistic ferment.
Early printed books, English literature, fine arts, history, religion, etc. (includes listings in STCI, STCII and Thomason Tracts). Coverage: 1473-1700
Provides partially searchable digital images of books printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland, as well as works in English printed elsewhere. Based on the Pollard and Redgrave Short Title Catalogue (1475-1640), the Wing Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
Primary sources, including books and monographs, newspapers and periodicals, diaries and personal letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, and etc. Coverage: 1780-1910
Includes Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, British Politics and Society, British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture, Children's Literature and Childhood, Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest, European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection, Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature, Photography: The World through the Lens, Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform, Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, and Women: Transnational Networks.
Early Modern Manuscripts Online (EMMO) is a project of the Folger Shakespeare Library to provide scholars and the general public with convenient web access to transcriptions, images, and metadata for manuscripts from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
Born in 1572, Ben Jonson was as an actor and playwright. One of his first plays, Every Man Out of His Humor (1599) had fellow playwright William Shakespeare as a cast member. His success grew with such works as Volpone (1605) and The Alchemist (1610) and he was popular at court, frequently writing the Christmas masque. He is considered a very fine Elizabethan poet. In some anti-Stratfordian circles he is proposed as the true author of Shakespeare's plays, though this view is not widely accepted.