It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Shakespeare: Studying the Bard
A guide to resources on the Bard, William Shakespeare.
Modern literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage: 1926 to present
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in over 4,400 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. major article indexes.
Folger Shakespeare Library is the world’s largest Shakespeare collection, and an expansive resource for exploring Shakespeare and his world. It provideslarge array of resources, from original sources to modern interpretations.
Topical bibliographies in the humanities and social sciences. Oxford Bibliography
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.
Three volume history of British theater starting around the time of Shakespeare and continuing forward. An excellent source for background information and contextualization of British theater. Online version (at link) lacks volume 3. Paper edition at call number is complete.
Authority and accessibility combine to bring the history and the drama of Tudor England to life. Almost 900 engaging entries cover the life and times of Henry VIII, Mary I, Elizabeth I, William Shakespeare, and much, much more.
Born in 1572, Ben Jonson worked as an actor and playwright. One of his first plays, Every Man Out of His Humor (1599) had fellow playwright William Shakespeare as a cast member. His success grew with such works as Volpone (1605) and The Alchemist (1610) and he was popular at court, frequently writing the Christmas masque. He is considered a very fine Elizabethan poet. In some anti-Stratfordian circles he is proposed as the true author of Shakespeare's plays, though this view is not widely accepted.