Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Rhetoric and Communication Research Resources
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
The first stop in most research in rhetoric and communication. The bulk of material is post-1970, but some coverage starts in the early 20th Century.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Excellent coverage of rhetoric surrounding current events.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Includes some television and radio news transcripts.
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric
Location: Reference PN172 .E52 2001
Contains extended entries explaining rhetorical genres and devices such as ethos, pathos, enthymeme, epideictic, credibility, and persuasion.
Sourcebook on Rhetoric
Location: Reference PN172 .J37 2001
Also good for rhetorical devices, genres, and styles. The bibliographies associated with each entry are excellent.
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition
Location: PN172 .E53 1996
Most useful for biographies of individual rhetorical theorists and for different schools of rhetoric. Look here for Isocrates, not for JFK.
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
Location: Reference P87.5 .E53 2001
Basic background information on communications and media. Look here for broadcasting as it affects communication. Not useful for Aristotelian rhetoric.