Research Guides: *Biology: Getting Started with Biology

Best Bets for Biology

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Medical research journal articles. National Library of Medicine's version of Medline.
It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Sciences and social sciences journal article citations. Searchable by author affiliation and citation count.
Encyclopedia of Life This link opens in a new window
A high quality, open, and freely available online encyclopedia with the goal of increasing awareness and knowledge of living nature. A great source of reusable image content.

Topic Overviews in Biology

The Basics of Molecular Biology by Alexander Vologodskii
Published: 2022
Provides a "quick" overview of key concepts in molecular biology including nucleic acids and proteins, genetic code and protein synthesis, the fidelity of transferring genetic information to the next generations, and the regulation of various processes inside the cells, modern DNA sequencing technologies, and CRISPR.
Understanding Evo-Devo by Wallace Arthur
Published: 2021
Discusses the intertwined relationships of evolution and development and the current state of play regarding our understanding of evolutionary and developmental origins.

Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
Scholarly content from four major works of ornithology [Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World], millions of bird observations from eBird, and multimedia content from the Macaulay Library into a single platform.
Scholarly content from four major works of ornithology [Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World], millions of bird observations from eBird, and multimedia content from the Macaulay Library. bna

Article Databases for Biology

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles in biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.nursing dentistry veterinary
It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Sciences and social sciences journal article citations. Searchable by author affiliation and citation count.
Semantic Scholar This link opens in a new window
Science journal articles. "Highly Influential" feature identifies citations where the cited publication has a significant impact on the citing publication and can make it easier to understand how publications build upon and relate to each other.
bioRxiv This link opens in a new window
Unpublished preprints in the life sciences. (Pronounced "bio-archive.") Not peer-reviewed.

Top Biology Journals

PLoS Biology
Features works in all areas of biological science, from molecules to ecosystems, including works at the interface of other disciplines, such as chemistry, medicine, and mathematics.
Biological Reviews
Covers the entire range of the biological sciences, presenting several review articles per issue. Articles are aimed at non-specialist biologists as well as researchers in the field.
Current Biology
Original research covering all areas of biology together with an extensive and varied set of editorial sections. A primary aim of the journal is to foster communication across fields of biology.
BioScience
Overviews of current research in biology, accompanied by essays and discussion sections on education, public policy, history, and the conceptual underpinnings of the biological sciences.
BMC Biology
Research and methodology articles of special importance and broad interest in any area of biology, as well as commissioned reviews, opinion pieces, comment and Q&As on topics of special or topical interest.
Trends in Ecology and Evolution
Concise and readable reviews, opinions and letters in all areas of ecology and evolutionary science.
Ecology Letters
Articles relating to the ecology of all taxa, in any biome and geographic area exploring or testing clearly stated hypotheses.
Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment
Peer-reviewed, synthetic review articles on all aspects of ecology, the environment, and related disciplines, as well as short, high-impact research communications of broad interdisciplinary appeal.
Access: 02/01/2003 to present
Evolution
Articles focusing on the study of organic evolution and the integration of the various fields of science concerned with evolution.
Molecular Biology and Evolution
Research at the interface of molecular (including genomics) and evolutionary biology.

Identifying More Journals

For help identifying quality, subject-specific journals, check out the "Journal Rankings" search at SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR).

Biology Journals at Bates
An extensive list of health and biological science journals accessible through Bates College.
biology
biophysics
genetics
microbiology
immunology
dentistry
nutrition
human anatomy
neuroscience
physiology
medicine
nursing
pharmacy
pharmacology
physical therapy
psychiatry
public health
veterinary
zoology

Theses and Other Capstone Projects in Biology

Capstone Projects - Biology
Bates Biology Department capstone projects including honors and standard theses published from 2011 to present are discoverable electronically on SCARAB.
Honors theses earlier than 2011 can be found in the catalog under the Author "Bates College (Lewiston, Me.). Department of Biology."

Scientific Papers Made Easy by Stuart West; Lindsay Turnbull
Published: 2023
Contains expert tips and suggestions for writing better scientific papers that are more likely to be read and have impact -From the publisher

Science and Data Librarian

Pete Schlax

Contact:

Ladd Library 133
(207) 786-8328
pschlax2@bates.edu

I am usually at the Research Desk Mon. 1-4, Wed. 6-9, and Thurs. 10-1

Subjects: Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Digital and Computational Studies, Earth and Climate Sciences, Environmental Studies, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physics