It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Philosopher's Index database contains bibliographic citations with author abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy with complete coverage of all major articles from anthologies and books written in English, Spanish, German, Italian, and French -- journals from 38 countries published since 1940. Topics include all major fields of philosophy, including Aesthetics, Epistemology, Ethics, Logic (including mathematics), Metaphysics (including philosophy of mind, existentialism, and phenomenology), Political philosophy (including philosophy of law), Social philosophy, and the Philosophy of Education, History, Language, Science and Religion.
America: History and Life is the primary bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to key English-language historical journals, the coverage includes selected journals from major countries, state, and local history journals, and a selection of journals in the social sciences and humanities. In addition to articles, the database includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations.
Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). This database offers annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to the present. Over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered in the database. In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country, it includes a selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
You can do a combined search with all of the above by clicking on "Choose Databases" when you're in the EBSCO interface.
Search here for scholarly recommendations of books and articles on topics of your interest.
Below is an example: Feminist Political Thought or Sojourner Truth.
Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and are keyword searchable.
The Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theory provides an overview of the analytical frameworks and theoretical concepts feminist theorists have developed to challenge established knowledge. Leading feminist theorists, from around the globe, provide in-depth explorations of a diverse array of subject areas, capturing a plurality of approaches.
The Handbook illustrates how feminist theory and praxis have contributed to international knowledge production and policy on women’s rights and gender equality, and to transnational social change processes.
The Oxford Handbook of U.S. Women’s Social Movement Activism provides both a detailed and extensive examination of the wide range of U.S. women’s collective efforts, as well as a broad overview of the scholarship on women’s social movement struggles.
The work aims at an understanding of the intellectual traditions and civilizations of sub-Saharan Africa for the general reader, as well as for the specialist, but with a minimum of technical language.