It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Book Reviews: Sources
Magazines and newspapers with reviews of recent books.
Academic journals in humanities, social sciences, sciences. In the Advanced Search, select the Item Type "Reviews."
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain an archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Covers academic journals as far back as 1907. In an Advanced Search, select Document Type: Book Review.
This article index offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907. Subjects include: communications & mass media, criminal justice, anthropology, economics, art, film, environmental studies, archaeology, international relations, law, literary & social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, planning & public administration, political science, sociology, religion & theology, gender studies, gerontology, psychiatry & psychology, addiction studies, urban studies
Popular and general interest magazines, covering 1890-1982. In an Advanced Search, select Document Type: Book Review.
Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes popular and general interest magazines published in the United States and Canada. Incorporates (through 1982) the printed Nineteenth century readers' guide to periodical literature, 1890-1899, and Readers' guide to periodical literature.
19th and 20th century periodicals. In Advanced Search, select Document Type: Review
Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online.
Magazines and journals, covering 1740-1940. In Advanced Search, select Document Type: Review
Periodicals that began publishing between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1900. The bulk of the collection dates from the 19th-century. Periodicals that began publishing before 1900 and continued into the 20th century are included through 1940.
More than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 states. Coverage: between 1690 and 1998.
Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.