Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYS 505B - Bates STEM Scholars: Getting Started with Research

Professor Katy Ott

LIbrarySearch+

Bates STEM Scholars Library Resources

A Collection of Resources that Might Get You Started in Your Search for an Inspiring STEM Professional:

Penn Reading Project 2019-2020 : Weapons of Math Destruction

Penn State Libraries created an excellent guide to Cathy O'Neil's book "Weapons of Math Destruction" to support their 2019-2020 Reading Project.  There is a good chance you will find resources related to your "STEM Dilemma" there:

Penn Reading Project 2019-2020 : Weapons of Math Destruction


Chapter 3. Arms Race-Going to College

Examples of Issues Addressed

  • U.S. News and World Report's College Ranking System
  • Affects of Rankings on Colleges
    • Pressure to "Game the System"
  • Affects of Rankings on Students
    • Pressure to be accepted to the "best" possible school
    • Pressure to buy into an expensive "college prep" culture and the inability of many to do so
  • The "Flutie Effect"
  • Opaque metrics (e.g. how are various criteria weighted? Is cost factored in? Post graduation success?  How long post graduation?)
  • The use of proxies as a measure of quality

Potential Resources


Chapter 5. "Civilian Casualties: Justice in the Age of Big Data"

Examples of Issues Addressed

  • Predictive Policing (i.e. Predpol) Software
    • Using historical crime type, crime location, and crime date and time to "forecast" future crime
  • Observational feedback loop (i.e. the more focus you give a particular geographic area or demographic, the more crime you "discover", resulting more attention and more "discoveries")
  • Unequal application of WMD's
  • Community policing vs. WMD policing

Potential Resources


Chapter 8. "Collateral Damage: Landing Credit"

Examples of Issues Addressed

  • e-scores / credit scores
  • proxies vs. more directly relevant descriptors
  • group generalizations vs. individual assessment

Potential Resources


Chapter 9. "No Safe Zone: Getting Insurance"

Examples of Issues Addressed

  • potentially intrusive workplace "Wellness Programs" and insurance rates
  • personal finances as a proxy for driving skills and driving history and car insurance rates

Potential Resources


Chapter 10. "The Targeted Citizen: Civic Life"

Examples of Issues Addressed

  • Potential influence of social media on political elections

Potential Resources

Some of the extensive and searchable newspaper collections available at Bates:

Below are links to examples of several of the extensive and searchable newspaper collections available at Bates.

Find even more from the "Online Collections" button on the library home page:

  • Select "Online Collections", "Browse by Type", and then "News and Newspapers".

Historical Newspaper Collections:


Historical through Present Newspaper Collections:


Individual Newspapers: