This search widget is very similar to the LibrarySearch+ option on the library home page. However, this is configured to find biologically focused content. After you start a search here, you can easily remove these discipline restrictions.
Sciences and social sciences. CogPrints
US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
European Patent Office
Japan Patent Office
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
UK Intellectual Property Office
SCOPUS offers coverage from 14,000 peer-reviewed titles from over 4,000 international publishers including 531 Open Access journals. in addition Scopus offers coverage of relevant scientific information on the Web, including author homepages, university sites, corporate information and other resources such as Preprint servers, CogPrints, ArXiv.org, OAI compliant resources, as well as the US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), the European Patent Office, the Japan Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office.
Humanities, social sciences, sciences. Coverage: Archive and Embargo: 3-6 years
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain an archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Resources for Epidemics: Past, Present, and Future
The websites listed below contain some fantastic information about the infectious diseases you are learning about. The sites also contain some solid information about the researches that worked to help those infected and to prevent future outbreaks.
Often called “the voice of CDC,” the MMWR series is the agency’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations.
GenBank ® is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences. GenBank is part of the International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration , which comprises the DNA DataBank of Japan (DDBJ), the European Nucleotide Archive (ENA), and GenBank at NCBI. These three organizations exchange data on a daily basis.
This version offers scanned copies of every available page and every article in the newspaper. Includes all images and advertisements.
A lot of old stuff has been digitized and put on the web:
Several large national projects have taken it upon themselves to digitize and curate older materials that are no longer subject to U.S. copyright. Many of these "public domain" resources are freely available on the web. Below, you will find links to three of the heavy hitters.
Some of the extensive and searchable newspaper collections available at Bates:
Below are links to examples of several of the extensive and searchable newspaper collections available at Bates.
Recall that you can find even more from the "Online Collections" button on the library home page. Just select "Online Collections", "Browse by Type", and then "News and Newspapers".
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998, including titles from all 50 states.
Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
An excellent source of digitized public domain content including more than 6 million ebooks, the Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library that works in collaboration with the Library of Congress and The Smithsonian.
For example, check out these historical Reports of the Maine State Board of Health. Each annual report contains a summary of infectious diseases that broke out along with their locations within the state.
Digital collection of books, journals, newspapers, and other print materials scanned by member libraries (including many of the largest research libraries in the US). Coverage: Ca. 1500 to present
Collection is full text searchable. Materials in the public domain are available for reading online. Copyrighted materials are not available in full text, but often indicate page numbers where words occur. Includes many US government documents. hathi trust