Book Searches
Tools
- RefWorks Citation Manager Organize citations for multiple research papers and projects.
- LibX Firefox Plugin Library search made easy.
Uses of Book Reviews
Book reviews can be very useful in a number of ways during the research process.
- They may often give
- information about the author,
- a summary of the book's contents,
- comparisons to other works in the field,
- and of course evaluative comments.
- Surveying many reviews can provide an overview of the critical reception of a book.
- Reviews themselves can range from one paragraph to several pages, from popular to scholarly.
- For book review sources in particular subject areas, see the Library's
subject guides. - In many indexes or databases, one can limit a search to book reviews only.
Current Reviews
The links below are to indexes that will include citations to reviews of general and popular works. For indexes in specific subject areas, see our individual subject guides.
- Academic Search Premier A general index, covering from the early 1980s to present.
- Proquest Newspapers A wide selection of current newspapers and backfiles.
- LexisNexis Academic Indexes many current newspapers which contain book reviews.
- Google Scholar Less specialized, only free sources, but sometimes a "quick and dirty" starting place.
- Ladd Library Subject Guides For sources of book reviews in individual subject areas.
Historical Reviews - Online Sources
For indexes in specific subject areas, see our individual subject guides.
- JSTOR Electronic backfiles of major academic journals, many with book reviews.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective Covers as far back as 1907.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective Popular and general magazines, 1890-1982
- Google Scholar Less specialized, only free sources, but sometimes a "quick and dirty" starting place.
- Ladd Library Subject Guides For sources of book reviews in individual subject areas.
Historical Reviews - Print Sources
For indexes in specific subject areas, see our individual subject guides.
- Book Review Digest Covers from 1905 to 1982.
- Book Review Index Covers from 1965 to present.
- Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974 Reference Z 6265 .C65 1982. Vol. 10 is a title index.
- Ladd Library Subject Guides For sources of book reviews in individual subject areas.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait