Primary Sources
- Women's History online collectionsfrom Library of Congress
- New England Women and Their Families in the 18th and 19th CenturyMicrofilm set of personal papers, letters and diaries
- Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th centuryMicrofilm of papers and diaries
- Association of Southern Women for the Prevention of LynchingMicrofilm covering papers from 1930-1942
Guide in Reference HV 6464.A7 - Women at Work CollectionMicrofilm from the Imperial War Museum, London, pertaining to the British Red Cross
- Papers of Emily Davies and Barbara BodichonMicrofilm on women and education in England, 1849-1921
- Guide to the Dorothy Freeman collection, 1891-1991collection at Bates Special Collections
- History of Women microfilm setonline guide to selected materials on women before 1920
- Godey's Lady's Book index introductionJust the index to some of our microfilm of this classic periodical, but helpful nevertheless.
Guides to Microfilm collections
- Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. AnthonyReference Z 6616.S689 P37 1992
- Guide and Index to New England Women's Diariesfrom the American Antiquarian Society Reference Z 5305.U5 G85 1984
- Comprehensive index to Oregon Trail diariesReference Z 1327.W4 1994
- Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubsguide to a set that Bowdoin owns and is requestable through ILL Reference E 185.86.B64 1994
Article Indexes
You can do a combined search with Gender Studies, SocIndex and LGBT by clicking on "Choose Databases" when you're in the EBSCO interface.

Book Resources (both online and print)
Search Google Books - Find millions of great books you can preview and/or locate in our catalog or ILL.
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues WorldwideReference, different call number on 6 vols covering parts of the world
- Encyclopedia of Women and Gender:sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender
Reference HQ 1115.W6444 2006, 2vols - BROWSE Handbooks in the Library's stacksrelated to "women"
- BROWSE Handbooksrelated to "feminis*"
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
- British and Irish Women's Letters & Diaries
- Women and Social Movements in the U.S. 1600-2000
- BROWSE useful Reference bookscontaining the word "lesbian"
- glbtq encyclopdedia: gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender & queer encyclopediagood online information
- Same Sex Marriage: A Selective BibliographyOnline sources kept up-to-date
- Black Women in America, 2nd editionBiographical information from Colonial to the present
- Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North AmericaReference BL 458.E52 2006, 3 vols
- Global Gender Gap ReportLook at the "external links" for the online reports
Free Web Resources
- International Center for Research on Women (ICRW)over 13,000 reports, books, fact sheets, and policy briefs
- Women and Gender Studies Web Sitesfrom Women's Studies section of the Association of College & Research Libraries
- American Women's History: A Research Guidegreat link to a timeline for American Women
- Status of Women in the States
- Women's Studies Research GuideNY Public Library's guide to many important sources
- Women's Studies Links - Academic Infomega-compilation of links
- Women Working Online Collection from Harvard1800-1930
- Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History (HEARTH)
- GLAD: Equal Justice Under Lawone of New England's leading legal rights organization
- Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia | Jewish Women's Archivepart of a web archive of information on the subject
Need Research Help? Contact me! |
Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
