Book Searches
Search Article Indexes/Databases
- Campus Research (Westlaw)Full-text law related research includes analytical sources, such as law journals, American Jurisprudence, and American Law Reports. Primary law sources include United States Code Annotated, CFR, Federal Register, and European Union law.
TO BEGIN, click on the tab LAW in upper left hand corner. - LexisNexis AcademicNews, business information, legal reviews, and case law.
TO BEGIN, search on LOOK UP A LEGAL CASE.
For Law Reviews, look for U.S. LEGAL on the left hand column. - Index to Legal Periodicals & BooksArticles from legal periodicals and indexes law books. Periodical coverage includes law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications. Covers all areas of jurisprudence from 1981 on.
- PAIS InternationalPublic and social policy literature index.
- JSTOR WebSiteArchive of important scholarly journals.
- LexisNexis CongressionalU.S. legislative information.
- LexisNexis State CapitalState government information.
- SocINDEX with Full TextCoverage includes all subdisciplines of sociology.
- Annual Review of Law and Social ScienceSearch for review articles on your topic.
- Google Scholar - Legal Opinions and Journals
Web Resources
- Legal Information Institute at Cornell Law SchoolGreat legal information starting point covering all law topics. Search constitutions and codes, court opinions, federal and state law, international and global law.
- FindLaw: Internet Legal ResourcesStarting point to legal information for the public and the law professional. Search laws by topic, such as Dog/Animal Bites, DUI, Mold, Accutane, etc. Research the law by Cases and Codes, or by Opinion Summaries.
- FindLaw: Cases and CodesSearch here for information.
- FindLaw: Case SummariesSearch court case opinions from 2000+ by several search indexes.
- The American Society of International LawASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law.
- U.S. CourtsComprehensive list of U.S. Federal Courts.
- State Court Web SitesHosted by the National Center for State Courts.
- Roman Law ResourcesProvides information on Roman law sources and literature, the teaching of Roman law, and the persons who study Roman law.
- Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and DiplomacyDigital documents from Ancient times to 21st Century.
Legal Citations
- Cornette Library: Government Information: Legal CitationsGood explanation of legal citations.
- Bluebook: a unified system of citation.Reference KF 245 .B853 2005
- Legal Citation Formats (from Lexis/Nexis)
Reference Resources
- Oxford Reference Online : A Dictionary of Law (2009)Dictionary of legal information.
- Black's Law Dictionary (8th edition, 2004)Classic authoritative dictionary of legal terms, quotations, abbreviations.
Also in Reference KF 156 .B53 2004 - West's Encyclopedia of American Law (2 ed. 2005)Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics.
- Legal Research in a NutshellBookstacks KF 240 .C54 2007
- Cambridge History of Law in America3 vols online
- Yale Biographical Dictionary of American LawReference KF 353 .Y35 2009

Loading...
