Book Searches
Electronic Reference Sources
- Brill's New Pauly : Brill Online
- Oxford Classical Dictionary (OCD)
- The Cambridge Ancient History
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
- Oxford Reference Online : Classics
- Grove encyclopedia of classical art and architecture
- The Cambridge Economic History of the Greco-Roman World
- The Cambridge History of Greek and Roman Warfare
- Hutchinson Dictionary of Ancient and Medieval Warfare
- Oxford dictionary of Byzantium
Print Reference Sources
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean; Greece and Rome.
3 vols.
Reference DE 59 .C55 1987
Late Antiquity
: A Guide to the Postclassical World.
Reference DE 5 .L29 1999
The Classical Tradition
Reference DE 60 .C55 2010
Princeton Encyclopedia
of Classical Sites.
Reference DE 59 .P7
Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman world.
Atlas Case G 1033 .B3 2000
An Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology
Reference DE 5 .E5 1996 2 vols.
Web Resources
Electronic Resources for Classicists
Comprehensive megasite maintained by Maria Pantelia, U. of Calif. at Irvine; great starting place.
Perseus Project.
Compilation of textual and image source materials--a gold mine!
PHI Latin Texts
Very good collection of Latin texts.
The Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics.
Over 1500 comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres.
Voice of the Shuttle, Classical Studies.
Lots of quick links.
Pomoerium: Classical Resources.
Based in Europe, with more than two dozen subject categories which link to many unique resources.
Classical and Medieval History.
An annotated list of reference websites from the U.S. Library of Congress, spanning both Greek and Latin topics.
Classics Collections
from the University of Florida, a rich selection of primary and secondary sources, references, etc.
Classical Mythology
developed by Dr. Robin Mitchell-Boyask at Temple University as part of a course in mythology; geared for college students.
Greek Mythology Link.
Lots of information organized in different ways by author Carlos Parada.
The Beazley Archive
Online images and information on classical art and archaeology.
Okeanos.
An interdisciplinary resource for the study of the Ancient, Biblical, Classical, and Late Antique Near East.
Byzantium: Byzantine Studies on the Internet.
What it says.
Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World.
Streamlined, easy to use.
The Internet Classics Archive.
Source for English translations of classical texts.
Didaskalia.
An English-language electronic publication about Greek and Roman drama, dance, and music as they are performed today.
LacusCurtius: into the Roman World.
Colorful and selective.
Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations (DARMC)
A kind of "Google Earth" for the Mediterranean world in those eras.
De Imperatoribus Romanis: An Online Encyclopedia of Roman Emperors.
Essays, family trees, maps, and other historical materials covering the emperors from 27 BC to 1453.
Roman Civilization, a page connected with the CMS 206/History 206 course by Assoc. Prof. Margaret Imber, Bates College. Contains syllabus, resources, links of interest, etc.
Need Research Help? |
Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
