FranceGermanyGreat BritainRussiaSpain
This is the "Home" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History  

Last Updated: Jan 3, 2012 URL: http://libguides.bates.edu/content.php?pid=47885 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Book Searches

Let us know what you think!

New Books in the last week from the CBB Libraries.

Search NExpress

Search MaineCat

Search WorldCat

Search Google Books

 

Department

Article Indexes

Academic Search Complete
A general index, covering c. 1990 to present. Some other indexes supplied by Ebsco can be searched simultaneously.

Essay and General Literature Index
Indexes chapters in books.

JSTOR
Good for full text backfiles of major academic journals, but not for very current topics.

Google Scholar
Less specialized, only free sources, but sometimes a "quick and dirty" starting place.

***************************************************************************

For indexes dealing with specific geographic areas or historical periods, see the subdivisions indicated by the tabs above.

Additional Online and Print Resources

Oxford Reference Online - History
Access to many relevant dictionaries and encyclopedias on all aspects of world history.

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
This encyclopedia clarifies the intellectual history of more than 750 complex ideas of concern to people today.

A Dictionary of World History
2nd ed., 2006

A Dictionary of Contemporary World History: from 1900 to the present day
3rd ed., 2008

Hutchinson Dictionary of 20th Century World History

The Cambridge Modern History

      

    Need Research Help?

    Profile Image
    Tom Hayward

    Need Research Help?

    Profile Image
    Sandra Groleau, Documents Librarian
     

    Chat with a Reference Librarian

     

    Tell Us How We Can Improve this Guide

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:


    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip