Research Guides: *Chemistry: SciFinder Quick Start

MNOVA

Mnova Install Files
Follow this link to the Mac OS and Windows installer files for mNOVA.

Search Chemistry Articles

Chemistry Journals at Bates
An extensive, but not necessarily exhaustive list of Chemistry journals available at Bates.

SciFinder n This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to substance, reaction and reference information in a single tool.
Create a Scifinder Account from our SciFinder Quick Start Guide.
SciFinder n is a research tool providing access to Chemical Abstracts databases which index a wide range of international literature in chemistry and diverse scientific fields including biology, engineering, physics, geology and material sciences. Major coverage includes journal articles, patents, dissertations, conference proceedings, as well as over 30 million substance records in the CAS Registry database. SciFinder can be searched by topic, author name, or by substance name, chemical structure, reactions, formulas or CAS Registry numbers. Commercial and regulated chemical information is included in SciFinder database content. Linking to full text articles in certain journals to which the library subscribes is an added feature.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Sciences and social sciences journal article citations. Searchable by author affiliation and citation count. CogPrints ArXiv.org OAI US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) European Patent Office Japan Patent Office World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) UK Intellectual Property Office
PubMed This link opens in a new window Medical research journal articles. National Library of Medicine's version of Medline. Mid 1950s to present general science chemistry medicine nursing dentistry veterinary medicine health care system preclinical sciences
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window Academic books in natural sciences, social sciences, computer programming and mathematics. Publication dates: 2008-present.
Note that almost any SpringerLink book in our catalog can be purchased as a "print on demand", grayscale copy for $24.99. This price includes shipping to anywhere within the continental United States.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Includes "Cited By" link when a work has been cited.
From academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

SciFinder Scholar Account Registration and Quick Start Guide

Getting Started with SciFinder n:

Sign Up for an Account!

Use SciFinder for a quick search of chemical property data. In addition to property data, this search will provide the CAS registry number (CASRN) for the chemical or compound. This CASRN is a useful unique identifier that can also simplify using the other resources in this guide much easier. Note that Bates Faculty and Students are provided access to SciFinder via paid subscription and access requires users to set up an account and login.

Sign Up For Your Account Here!

Using SciFinder n!

Using SciFinder you can quickly search the chemical literature (References) and obtain detailed information about a substance (Substances). It is even possible to search for information about specific chemical reactions by constructing 2D representations of the reactants and/or products (Reactions)!

You can perform three kinds of Biosequence searches: Basic Local Alignment (BLAST), Complementarity-Determining Region (CDR), and DNA, RNA, and protein motif (Motif) sequence searches.

CAS SciFinder n Quick Reference Guide (PDF)

Chemical Literature Searching Quick Start:

From the "References" category, select the appropriate link to explore the chemical literature by topic, author, journal name, etc.
For tips about using Scifinder in literature searching, please look here:

Step by Step Guide for Reference Searching (Web Page)
Tips for Reference Searching in SciFinder-n (Recorded Webinar - 28:40)

Chemical Substance Exploration Quick Start:

From the "Substances" category, choose to start searching for details about chemical structure, molecular formula and property data for a substance of interest.
For tips about using Scifinder to explore substance properties, please look here:

Step by Step Help for Finding Substances (Web Page)
The new CAS Draw Structure Editor - overview of features and functionality (Video - 3:19)
Structure Searching in SciFinder-n (Video - 1:35)

Chemical Reaction Exploration Quick Start:

From the "Reactions" category, select the 'Reaction Structure" link to search chemical reactions in the literature using 2D reactant and product structures. You won't be doing this with Google or Google Scholar!
For tips about using SciFinder to perform Chemical Reaction Searches, please look here:

Step by Step Help for Finding Reactions (Web Page)
Tips for Reaction Searching in SciFinder-n (Video - 29:38)
Retrosynthesis Overview for SciFinder-n - see and evaluate full synthetic pathways (Video - 3:30)

SciFinder Training Materials:

Want to do something not covered in this SciFinder Quick Start Guide?

Look here for a wealth of short and specific training materials!