Skip to main content
Bates College Research Guides Library Home

Chemistry 215: Descriptive Inorganic Chemistry

LibrarySearch+

Search Chemistry Articles

Course Text and Reserves

Chem 215 Course Reserves:

Can't recall what's on reserve for this course?

General Course Reserves:

Want to check availability for reserve materials for other courses by course number or instructor?

Science and Data Librarian

Helpful Chem 215 Resources

Excerpts from "Guidelines for your Element Paper":

  • Include "background of the research area being discussed".

 

  • Describe the historical role of the element for your chosen research topic/paper.

 

  • Provide and overview of your chosen research article.
    • Include a discussion of at least one piece of data (e.g. a figure or table).
    • Be clear how these data relate to the research question.

Citing Sources and Avoiding Plagiarism

  • Bates College Statement on Academic Integrity (official policy in effect as of July 1, 2013)
  • Bates Guide to Working with Sourcesan extremely helpful booklet on academic integrity and how to use sources responsibly created by the Student Conduct Committee.
  • Plagiarism Tutorial: Norton Field Guide's online resources  Start it and then "jump to the section" called "Quiz: "Common knowledge" or proprietary idea?
  • Check out this video (from Norway, with subtitles) about avoiding plagiarism - the best plagiarism video evuh?

Journal of the American Chemical Society Output Style:

Use the link below to download a Ryan Nelson sanctioned JACS output style file for Endnote.

To use this file:

  1. Download the file to your computer.
  2. Move the file to the "Styles" folder located in your Endnote application folder (i.e. Endnote X7->Styles.
  3. Open Endnote and use the "Select another style" tool to choose the "JACS (Bates)" style you have just added.
  4. You are all set.

Note: For this output style to create bibliographies with abbreviated journal titles, you must also import the chemistry-specific journal terms list.  The simplest way to do this is to see either Pete Schlax or Chris Schiff in the library.

Journals of Particular Interest for Chemistry 215:

Top Chemical Journals

  • Journal of the American Chemical Society [JACS: Full text available from 1879 to present]
  • Angewandte Chemie [Angew Chem: Full text available from 1998 to present]
  • Nature [Bates Print from 1963 to 2015; Full text available from 1987 to present]
  • Nature Chemistry [Full text available from 2009 to 2015]
  • Nature Materials [Full text available from 2004 to 2015]
  • Science [Full text available from 1880 to present]
  • Accounts of Chemical Research [Accounts of Chem Res: Full text available from 1968 to present]
  • Chemical Reviews [Chem Rev: Full text available from 1924 to present]

Sub-discipline Specific Chemistry Journals

  • Inorganic Chemistry [Full text available from 1962 to present]
  • Organometallics [Full text available from 1982 to present]
  • Dalton Transactions [Dalton Trans: Bates Print 1972 to 1987, Full text available from 1997 to 2001]
  • Inorganica Chimica Acta [Inorg Chim Acta: Full text online from 1995 to present]
  • Journal of Organometallic Chemistry [J Organomet Chem: Full text available from 1995 to present]
  • Journal of Inorganic Biochemistry [J Inorg Biochem: Full text available from 1995 to present]
  • Journal of Biological Inorganic Chemistry [Full text available from 1997 to present]
  • Inorganic Chemistry Frontiers [Inorg Chem Frontiers: Not available at Bates; Search from the journal website]
  • Topics in Organometallic Chemistry [Top Organomet Chem:  Springer Book Series; Search individual volumes]
  • Advances in Inorganic Chemistry [Adv. in Inorg Chem: Bates Print 1987 to present]
  • European Journal of Inorganic Chemistry [Eur. J. of Inorg Chem: Full text available from 1998 to present]

General Chemistry Journals That May Have Relevant Content

  • Chemical Communications [Chem Commun: Full text available from 1997 to present]
  • Coordination Chemistry Reviews [Coord Chem Rev: Bates Print 1967 to 1983; Full text available from 1996 to present]
  • ACS Catalysis [ACS Catal: Not available at Bates. Search from publisher's website]
  • ACS Central Science [ACS Cent Sci: Full text available from 2015 to present]
  • Analytical Chemistry [Anal Chem: Full text available from 1947 to present]
  • Energy and Fuels [Full text available from 1987 to present]
  • Environmental Science & Technology [Environ Sci Technol: Full text available from 1967 to present]
  • Journal of Chemical Education [J Chem Ed: Full text available from 1924 to present]
  • Journal of Physical Chemistry. C [J Phys Chem C: Full text available from 1996 to present]
  • Nano Letters [Full text available from 2001 to present]
  • Journal of materials chemistry [J. Mat Chem: Full text available from 1997 to 2003]

Useful Resources in the Reference Stacks at Ladd Library:

Sometimes it's good to flip though a book:

Getting Started with SciFinder Scholar:

Use SciFinder for a quick search of chemical property data.  In addition to property data, this search will provide the CAS registry number (CASRN) for the chemical or compound.  This CASRN is a useful unique identifier that can also simplify using the other resources in this guide much easier.  Note that Bates Faculty and Students are provided access to SciFinder via paid subscription and access requires users to set up an account and login.

Following login to SciFinder:

  1. Choose "Explore".
  2. Choose the "Substances".
  3. Choose "Substance Identifier".
  4. Enter the chemical name in the search box and select "Search".

Online Chemical Structure and Virtual Modeling Tools

Online WikiText with Supporting Content from UC Davis:

Great Sources for Element Information Available on the Web:

Loading