RILM includes journals from around the world, so it can be a rich source for information on cultural musicology.
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. Publications originate from 151 countries and are in 214 languages. There are currently over 550,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Coverage of all document types begins in 1967. Coverage of Conference Proceedings goes back to 1835.
Indexes books and periodicals on the anthropology of music. Includes 19th century journals that published some of the earliest research into comparative musicology.
The Anthropology Plus database combines data from the U.S. index Anthropological Literature and the U.K.'s Anthropological Index. The result is worldwide coverage of core journals plus local and lesser-known journals in the fields of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture.
both modern experimental research and primary historical material. Indexes publications on the psychology of music as early as the 17th century.
The American Psychological Association's PsycINFO database, with over 1.5 million records, is a comprehensive international database of psychology. It covers the academic, research and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages. Also includes relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior.
Includes several of the most important journals in ethnomusicology research, but lacks most recent 3-5 years.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain an archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Although the emphasis is on Western music, articles on music of a particular country or culture can be extensive (some even book length). Includes articles from the 2014 edition of the Grove Encyclopedia of Musical Instruments.
Includes access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dcitionary of Music. Grove Music Online is a continuously updated and comprehensive music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (second edition; 29 volumes; London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (4 volumes; London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, edited by Barry Kernfeld (second edition; 3 volumes; London, 2002).